NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » All eyes on Delhi to resolve Jharkhand crisis

All eyes on Delhi to resolve Jharkhand crisis

January 15, 2013 09:51 IST

The dispute over imposition of President's Rule and holding a mid-term elections in Jharkhand has now been shifted from Ranchi Raj Bhavan to New Delhi after the state governor Syed Ahmed sent his final report to the Union home ministry following talks with the representatives of all political parties after withdrawal of support to Arjun Munda led NDA government by Jharkhand Mukti Morcha

Chief Minister Arjun Munda had resigned on January 7.

A Raj Bhavan source said that the governor held talks with constitutional experts before sending his reports to the Centre.

After an in-depth study that emerged from the discussions with the representatives of the political parties, the governor made the conclusion that in current political situation no party could form a stable government at this juncture, said the source.

Political observers said that JMM supremo Shibu Soren had withdrawn his party's support from the Arjun Munda government, deciding to form alternative government soon after Arjun Munda denied that the 28-month power sharing deal between JMM and BJP was made with the JMM to transfer power to the JMM on completion of his 28-month tenure as chief minister.

Observers said that since last one year, prominent state Congress leaders had been hobnobbing with the Congress leaders in Delhi and brought their notices in regard to the failures of the NDA government in Jharkhand in various fields particularly in implementation of the Centre's sponsored development schemes in the state.

State Congress leaders had always briefed the Central ministers when they used to visit to the state.

It has now open that BJP, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM), All Jharkhand Students' Union (Ajsu) and all left parties have been demanding the dissolution of the Assembly and called a fresh elections in the state.

In the 82-member Assembly the number of MLAs of each parties are as follows: BJP (18) , JMM (18), Congress (13), JVM (11), Ajsu (6), RJD (5), JD(U) (2), Independents (6), CPI(ML) (1) and MCC (1)

It may be mentioned that the 8th government in Jharkhand headed by by Arjun Munda with 18 BJP legislators with the equal number of 18 JMM legislators and 6 of the Ajsu party of the 82-member Assembly was formed after withdrawal of the President's Rule on September 11, 2010. Munda was the eighth chief minister since the constitution of Jharkhand curving Bihar on November 15, 2000.

Tapan Chakravorti