NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » 41 IPS officers transferred in UP, SSP appointed in Firozabad

41 IPS officers transferred in UP, SSP appointed in Firozabad

June 16, 2014 20:42 IST

Uttar Pradesh government on Monday transferred 41 senior IPS officers, posting a senior superintendent of police in Firozabad, where two police constables have been shot dead by unidentified assailants leading to violent protests.

SP/Deputy Director (Traffic Directorate, Lucknow) Ajay Mohan Sharma has been made the new SSP of Firozabad, a home department spokesman said.

The earlier district police chief of Firozabad Rakesh Kumar Singh was suspended on May 25 after an eyewitness in a murder case was shot dead in the district.

The government removed Mirzapur DIG Rajesh Kumar Srivastava and posted DIG (Security, Lucknow) M D Karndhar in his place, besides posting DIG Vijay Kuamr Garg, under transfer to Azamgarh, as DIG to Devi Patan and DIG (Intelligence, Lucknow) Laxmi Narayan to Basti on the same post, the spokesman said.

Ram Bahadur, attached to the DG office, has been made the SP of Sonebhadra. SSP of Bulandshahr Umesh Kumar was replaced by Akhilesh Kumar, who was earlier attached to the DG office.

Dharamvir, who was under transfer to Auraiya as SP, has been made the SSP of Moradabad. Lav Kumar, ADC of governor, has been made the SSP of Etah, the spokesman said.

Commandant of 37 Battalion PAC Pawan Kumar has been made Jaunpur SP, Commandant of 25 Battalion PAC Rahul has been made Balrampur SP and Commandant of 15 Battalion PAC Akhilesh Kumar has been made SP of Auraiya.

Bahraich SP Happy Guptan has been attached to the DGP office, he added.

© Copyright 2017 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.