The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Ayodhya attack: Identity of all five militants established

July 20, 2005 01:44 IST

Security agencies have been able to establish the identity of the remaining three of the five Lashkar-e-Taiba terrorists who carried out a suicide attack on the Ayodhya complex on July five.

They have been identified as Mohammed Amin alias Zubair, Arshad Ali and Arif, informed sources said in New Delhi on Tuesday.

The three were staying at a rented house in Deoli village on the outskirts of South Delhi. Ali had visited Sultanpur on May 2, 2005, where he had purchased a mobile SIM card. He had also stayed at Akbarpur and Faizabad.

The five are suspected to be from the Punjab province of Pakistan as they generally used to converse in Pahari, spoken in tribal areas of Pakistan.

Meanwhile, the investigating officer of the case reached Jammu this evening from Ayodhya to take custody of the two accused arrested from Mendhar area of Jammu region. The duo -- Farooq and Nadim -- who had provided logistical support, were arrested by the state police and remanded to police custody till July 18.

The Uttar Pradesh police would formally seek their custody on Wednesday.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.