The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > PTI

Laloo quits Madhepura seat

June 09, 2004 12:06 IST
Last Updated: June 09, 2004 19:24 IST

Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Laloo Prasad Yadav, who was elected to the 14th Lok Sabha from Chhapra and Madhepura in Bihar, has given up the Madhepura seat.

Speaker Somnath Chatterjee announced this in the Lok Sabha on Wednesday.

Yadav, who defeated senior Janata Dal-United leader Sharad Yadav in Madhepura, will retain Chhapra, where he trounced Bharatiya Janata Party leader Rajiv Pratap Rudy.

The speaker said he had received a letter dated June 9 from Yadav resigning his Madhepura seat.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Bihar
Read about: Satyendra Dubey Murder Case

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

RJD+ alliance ahead in Bihar

RJD-led alliance ahead in Bihar

Bihar secular team has advantage

People Who Read This Also Read

2 Jaish militants held in Delhi

Hurriyat chief for talks with PM

Sameer Bhujbal back in Mumbai

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.