Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > News > PTI

Senior BJP leaders rush to Delhi

August 25, 2003 17:38 IST
Last Updated: August 25, 2003 18:22 IST

Senior Bharatiya Janata Party politicianswho had fanned out all over the country for the 'Vishwas Vijay' (trust victory) programme, are rushing to New Delhi for an emergency meeting of the BJP parliamentary board tomorrow to discuss the developments in Uttar Pradesh.

While party president M Venkaiah Naidu is cutting short his visit to Chennai and reaching Delhi, general secretaries Pramod Mahajan and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, who were in Aurangabad, Maharashtra,for a party conclave, are expected to arrive in the capital this evening.

Besides Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Deputy Prime Minister Lal Kishenchand Advani, senior ministers Murli Manohar Joshi, Jaswant Singh, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley will attend the meeting.

BJP parliamentary party spokesman Vijay Kumar Malhotra said the government would take a decision on the basis of Governor Vishnukant Shastri's report, which is expected "any moment".

Uttar Pradesh BJP politicians Vinay Katiyar, Lalji Tandon, Kalraj Mishra, Rajnath Singh and Om Prakash Singh are also expected to attend the meeting.

"The meeting will consider all options," Naqvi told the Press Trust of India. Advani's scheduled programme in Aurangabad is likely to be deferred or delayed, he added.

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 1

Sub: BJP metting

BJP should not support to any party idely them should seet in side if any one can make the goverment then let them make otherwise ...

Posted by Shivendra Singh



Copyright 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.