NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » ICC approves Sreesanth and two Australians as replacements

ICC approves Sreesanth and two Australians as replacements

February 09, 2011 09:47 IST

The International Cricket Council has approved Indian speedster S Sreesanth's inclusion in the India's World Cup squad while also confirming Callum Ferguson and Jason Krejza as replacements in the Australian side. 

The ICC said the Event Technical Committee of the World Cup has approved Krejza as replacement for the injured Nathan Hauritz and Ferguson for Michael Hussey in the Australia squad for the February 19-April 2 tournament in the sub-continent. 

"In addition, the committee has approved the replacement of Praveen Kumar with S Sreesanth in the India squad," ICC said in a statement. 

The confirmations were conveyed to Cricket Australia and the Board of Control for Cricket in India on behalf of the event technical committee, the statement added. 

Krejza will replace Hauritz, who is suffering from a shoulder injury, Ferguson comes in for Hussey who has been ruled out with a hamstring injury while Sreesanth replaces Kumar, who is suffering from an elbow injury. 

The three injured players were declared unfit by their respective boards and, as a result, CA and the BCCI chose to seek replacements for the entire event. 

Any injury-based replacement requires a written submission to the Event Technical Committee along with a diagnosis from a medical practitioner as to the extent of the injury. Once replaced, a player cannot return to the squad. 

As with all players in the tournament, the eligibility of a replacement player is subject to approval by the ICC before that player can be officially added to the squad. 

The Event Technical Committee of the 2011 World Cup consists of David Richardson (ICC, chairman), Prof Ratnakar Shetty (Tournament Director), Campbell Jamieson (IDI representative), Anil Kumble (host nominee), David Lloyd (independent nomination) and Sanjay Manjrekar (independent nomination).

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.