NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » West Indies complete series sweep over Zimbabwe

West Indies complete series sweep over Zimbabwe

February 27, 2013 08:00 IST

West Indies easily won their third and final One-day International with Zimbabwe in Grenada on Tuesday to complete a 3-0 series cleansweep.

Darren Bravo stroked an unbeaten 72 from 103 deliveries to lead his team to a comfortable five-wicket victory with 22 balls to spare after Zimbabwe were restricted to 211 for nine from their 50 overs.

Darren BravoThe tourists made a solid start with opener Vusi Sibanda making 41 and Brendan Taylor 39 before West Indian left arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul ripped through the middle order, capturing three wickets.

Chamu Chibhabha provided Zimbabwe with a glimmer of hope when he blasted an unbeaten 48, featuring three fours and two sixes, but the West Indies had few problems reaching their target.

Opener Kieran Powell, who scored half-centuries in the previous two matches, laid the platform for the West Indian reply with a solid 42 from 52 deliveries before Bravo took over, adding a half century to his hundred from the first match to finish the series with an average of 172.

The two teams will play a pair of Twenty20 fixtures in Antigua this weekend before Tests in Barbados and Dominica.


Zimbabwe: Tino Mawoyo lbw b Narine 9, Vusi Sibanda c Deonarine b Best 41, Hamilton Masakadza b, Dwayne Bravo 6, Brendan Taylor c Powell b Permaul 39, Regis Chakabva b Permaul 17, Malcolm Waller lbw b Permaul 15, Chamu Chibhabha n.o. 48, Tino Mutombodzi run out (Dwayne Bravo) 13, Natasi M'shangwe b Dwayne Bravo 1, Kyle Jarvis c and b Best 7, Chris Mpofu n.o. 2.
Extras: 13;
Total: (for nine wickets) 211
Fall of wickets: 1-23, 2-30, 3-85, 4-104, 5-128, 6-139, 7-157, 8-160, 9-201.
Bowling: Kemar Roach 7-3-15-0 (1w), Tino Best 9-0-38-2 (3w), Dwayne Bravo 10-1-58-2 (2w), Sunil Narine 10-1-41-1 (3w), Veerasammy Permaul 10-0-40-3, Narsingh Deonarine 4-1-15-0.
West Indies: Kieran Powell c Waller b Mutombodzi 42, Ramnaresh Sarwan c and b Mutombodzi 20, Darren Bravo n.o. 72, Narsingh Deonarine c Mutombodzi b Masakadza 21, Kieron Pollard run out (Mawoyo/Taylor) 0, Dwayne Bravo c Masakadza b Jarvis 25, Denesh Ramdin n.o. 24
Extras: 12;
Total: (for five wickets) 215;
Fall of wickets: 1-46, 2-83, 3-120, 4-121, 5-167;
Bowling: Kyle Jarvis 10-1-54-1, Chris Mpofu 8.2-0-39-0 (3w), Natsai M'shangwe 10-1-31-0, Tino Mutombodzi 10-0-35-2 (2w), Malcolm Waller 1-0-7-0, Hamilton Masakadza 6-0-38-1 (2w), Chamu Chibhabha 1-0-6-0.

Photograph: Chris Hyde/Getty Images

© Copyright 2017 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.