NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Ambrose named in England ODI squad

Ambrose named in England ODI squad

May 30, 2008 17:25 IST

Wicketkeeper Tim Ambrose was the only uncapped one-day international player named in England's 14-man squad on Friday for a five-match series and a Twenty20 international against New Zealand.

Ambrose, who has played in England's last five tests since displacing Matt Prior, has been selected even though he has struggled for runs during the three-test series against the Kiwis while Prior is the highest scorer in this season's county championship.

All-rounder Andrew Flintoff was not chosen because he has yet to complete a six-week rehabilitation programme after suffering a side strain.

England squad: Paul Collingwood (captain) Tim Ambrose, James Anderson, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Kevin Pietersen, Owais Shah, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett, Luke Wright.

© Copyright 2018 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.