NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Ponting 12th man in all-time Australian XI

Ponting 12th man in all-time Australian XI

July 20, 2009 14:15 IST

Shane Warne, Adam Gilchrist and Glenn McGrath made it to Cricinfo's all-time Australian XI but Ricky Ponting was deemed good enough only for the 12th man's slot.

Don Bradman, Shane Warne and Dennis Lillee were the unanimous choice of the 10 judges, while former captain Greg Chappell and all-rounder Keith Miller received nine votes. 

Legendary Victor Trumper and retired stumper Gilchrist got eight votes each from the jury comprising cricket historians and print and radio journalists.

Matthew Hayden's amazing record did threw him in contention but the jury eventually decided to open with the legendary Trumper and Bradman's teammate Arthur Morris. 

At number three, Don Bradman was an "axiomatic" choice, while "cricketing aristocrat" Greg Chappell and the Allan Border slammed the middle order door on Ponting. 

Being Australia "finest and most flamboyant all-rounder", Keith Miller selected himself as does Gilchrist, while jury opted for two leggies in the side with Bill 'Tiger' O'Reilly joining Warne in the ranks. 

Lillee's inclusion was unanimous, while McGrath's was also an "automatic selection", the jury said. 

Australian XI: Victor Trumper, Arthur Morris, Don Bradman, Greg Chappell, Allan Border, Keith Miller, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne, Bill O'Reilly, Dennis Lillee and Glenn McGrath. 12th man: Ricky Ponting.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.