NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Fine ton by Rizwan Shamshad

Fine ton by Rizwan Shamshad

Last updated on: December 18, 2003 22:25 IST

Rizwan Shamshad smashed a brilliant 168 to help Uttar Pradesh score 473 on the second day of the 'Elite' Group 'A' Ranji Trophy match against Baroda in Vadodara on Thursday.

In reply, Baroda were struggling at 34 for one in their first innings at close of play.

UP were also aided by the poor fielding of Baroda. Shamshad was dropped four times before the gritty batsman took advantage of the lapses and emerged top scorer.

Resuming at their overnight 232 for four, not out batsmen Shamshad and Gyanendra Pandey added 98 runs for the fifth wicket.

Shamshad and Ratnesh Misra added 69 runs for the eighth wicket before the former added 77 runs for the ninth wicket with Pravin Gupta.

Baroda seamers Rakesh Patel, Shekhar Joshi and Irfan Pathan (Sr) shared eight wickets while spinner Valmik Buch bagged two wickets.

The hosts began their reply on a dismal note, losing opener Rishikesh Parab for just eight runs.

At stumps, Satyajit Parab (21) and Valmik Buch were at the crease.


Uttar Pradesh (1st innings): (Overnight 232 for 4):
R Prakash lbw b Irfan Pathan Sr 27
J Yadav c N Mongia b R Patel 31
S Raina c I Pathan Sr b V Buch 66
R Elahi c S Joshi b R Patel 34
R Shamsahd c Chandorikar (sub) b R Patel 168
G Pandey lbw V Buch 44
N Chopra b S Joshi 10
P Malviya c R Patel b S Joshi 1
R Misra lbw b S Joshi 13
P Gupta not out 24
A W Zaidi run out 4

Extras: (17 b, 16 lb, 18 nb) 51

Total: (all out in 167.2 overs) 473

Fall of wickets: 1-27, 2-73, 3-165, 4-174, 5-272, 6-314, 7-316, 8-385, 9-462.

Bowling: Rakesh Patel 49-7-138-3, I Pathan Sr 36-11-92-1, Shekhar Joshi 32-5-84-3, Valmik Buch 40.2-11-93-2, Tushar Arothe 10-0-33-0.

Baroda (1st innings):
Satyajit Prab batting 21
Rishikesh Parab b Zaidi 8
Valmik Buch batting 0

Extras: (b 2, lb 1, nb 2) 5

Total: (one wicket, 10 overs) 34

Fall of wickets: 1-27.

Bowling: A W Zaidi 5-0-21-1, Ratnesh Misra 3-0-9-0, Pravin Gupta 1-0-1-0, Nikhil Chopra 1-1-0-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.