NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Andhra register easy win

Andhra register easy win

December 12, 2006 15:07 IST

Kalyan Krishnan took 3 for 47 as Andhra beat Saurashtra by 78 runs on the fourth and final day of their Ranji Trophy Elite division match in Rajkot on Tuesday.

Resuming at their overnight score of 127 for 5, Saurashtra could not offer much resistance and folded up for 195 off 88 overs.

Overnight batsmen Sitanshu Kotak (58) and Ravindra Jadeja (9) went back to the pavillion early but Rakesh Dhruv 36 (59b, 7 boundaries), with Kamlesh Makwana (9) and Sandip Jobanputra (15), frustrated the visitors for a little while.

Medium pacer Krishnan was the most successful bowler claiming three wickets for 47 runs while K S Shahabuddin, Venugopal Rao and M D Faiq took two wickets each.


Andhra first innings: 215 all out

Saurashtra first innings: 87 all out

Andhra second innings: 145 all out

Saurashtra second innings: (Overnight score: 127-5)
K Vaghela b Venugopal Rao 22
S Jogiyani c Prasad b Krishnan 12
S Kotak c Prasad b Krishnan 58
C Pujara run out 03
J Shah c Pradeep b Faiq 14
P Mehta lbw b Venugopal Rao 04
R Jadeja c Prasad b Shahabuddin 09
R Dhruv c Prasad b Krinhnan 36
K Makwana c Prasad b Faiq 09
S Jobanputra b Shahabuddin 15
S Maniar not out 01

Extras (b-4, lb-1, nb-4, w-3) 12

Total (all out in 88 overs) 195

Fall of wickets: 1-28, 2-54, 3-74, 4-113, 5-120, 6-134, 7-134, 8-166, 9-193.

Bowling: K S Shahabuddin 26-10-48-2, Kalyan Krishnan 17-4-47-3, Y G Rao 7-2-19-0, Venugopal Rao 21-10-30-2, A Varma 1-0-8-0, M D Faiq 13-4-32-2, R Prasad 3-1-6-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.