NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Pujara ton piles up agony for Rajasthan

Pujara ton piles up agony for Rajasthan

Last updated on: November 25, 2007 22:12 IST

Promising middle order batsman Cheteshwar Pujara scored a scintillating century to place Saurashtra in a dominating position on the third day against Rajasthan in the Ranji Trophy Super League tie in Jaipur.

Saurashtra ended the third day at 253 for 3 which extended their overall lead to a huge 388 runs. They bowled out Rajasthan for a paltry 172 in the first innings earlier on Sunday. Saurashtra had scored 307 in the first innings. Pujara scored an unfinished 151 on the third day to pile up agony on the hosts.

Rajasthan resumed at overnight 155 for 6 but could reach only 172. For Saurashtra SP Jobenputra generated good pace and kept a steady line to finish with figures of 4 for 47 while the other medium pacer SM Maniar too impressed and ended with 35 for 3.

The misery of hosts did not end here as despite loosing two early wickets for 29 runs, opener KM Vaghela (51) and Pujara put on 172 for the third wicket. India u-19 player Pujara showed his hunger for big scores and stroked freely to his hundred and added 52 runs for 4th wicket with JN Shah.

Pujara 190- ball stay had 23 fours and two sixes while Shah (21) supported him at the other end. For the hosts skipper Mohammad Aslam fought the lone battle and grabbed all three wickets for 51 runs.


Saurashtra (1st Innings): 307
Rajasthan (1st Innings, overnight 155 For 6 ):
R Jhalani c Jogiyani b Maniar 8
G Khoda lbw Dhruv 44
N Doru run out 29
V Saxena b Jobanputra 26
R Bisht b Dhruv 21
R Bishnoi b Jobanputra 5
A Khan lbw Jobanputra 4
S Singh c Makwana b Maniar 6
P Singh lbw Jobanputra 0
M Aslam c Jogiyani b Maniar 1
N Singh not out 7
Extras: (9b-8, lb-7, w-4, nb-2) 21
Total: (63.5 overs, all out ) 172

Fall of wickets: 1-19, 2-92, 3-92, 4-140, 5-144, 6-149, 7-160, 8-160, 9-161, 10-172

Bowling: SP Jabanputra 19-5-47-4, S Maniar 17.5-5-35-3, K Vaghela 4-1-10-0, RN Dhruv 13-3-35-2, R Jadeja 8-2-20-0, K Makwana 2-0-10-0

Saurashrtra (2nd Innings):
K Vaghela c Afroj b Aslam 51
S Jogiyani lbw Aslam 20
S Kotak c Saxena b Aslam 0
CA Pujara not out 151
JN Shah not out 21
Extras: (B-1, Lb-5, Nb-4) 10
Total: (in 75 overs, for 3 wkts) 253

Fall of wickets: 1-29, 2-29, 3-201

Bowling: Pankaj Singh 20-3-59-0, Nishan Singh 15-4-39-0, Afroj Khan 10-2-49-0, Md Aslam 18-7-51-3, Shamsher Singh 10-4-44-0, Rajesh Bishnoi 2-0-5-0

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.