NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Orissa take first innings lead

Orissa take first innings lead

December 27, 2007 20:46 IST

Having conceded a first innings lead of 39 runs to Orissa, hosts Baroda rode on Shatrunjay Gaekwad's unbeaten half century to reach 120 for three in their second essay on the penultimate day of the Ranji Trophy Super League Group B match in Vadodara on Thursday.

After restricting Orissa to 294, Baroda put up a disciplined batting show and Azharuddin Bilakhia (46) was giving company to Gaekwad (58) at stumps.

Baroda did not have the best of starts with Satyajit Parab (1), Connor Williams (10) and Rakesh Solanki (0) cooling their heels in the pavilion with the score reading just 11.

Gaekwad and Bilakhia then came up with an unbeaten fourth wicket stand of 109 runs to steady the rocking boat. 

Gaekwad's unbeaten 58 came off 96 balls and had eight boundaries and a six in it. Bilakhia scored 46 off 110 balls with the help of six boundaries.

Earlier, the hosts scalped seven Orissa wickets conceding 90 runs to bowl them out for 294.

Resuming on 204 for three, Orissa lost wickets at regular intervals and overnight centurion and visiting captain SS Das was out after scoring 114 (338b).

For the hosts, left-arm spinner Rajesh Pawar (6-66) was the pick of the bowlers, while pacer Sumit Singh scalped three for 58.


Baroda (1st innings): 255
Orissa (1st innings, overnight 204 for 3):
B Pati c Parab b Sumit Singh 24
SS Das c Chauhan b Pawar 114
N Behera lbw b Pawar 31
RR Parida c Shah b Sumit Singh 1
P Sinha lbw b Vohra 44
P Jayachandra b Pawar 44
H Das c Gaekwad b Pawar 4
R Mohanty lbw b Sumit Singh 0
D Mohanty not out 14
B Mohanty c Gaekwad b Pawar 0
S Sehgal c Vohra b Pawar 7
Extras: (B-1, LB-5, W-5) 11
Total: (All out in 128.2 overs) 294

Fall of wickets: 1-38, 2-103, 3-122, 4-213, 5-253, 6-269, 7-270, 8-272, 9-272, 10/294

Bowling: Sumit 32-11-58-3, Vohra 21-6-53-1, Pawar 40.2-17-66-6, Pathan 23-4-66-0, Chauhan 10-1-32-0, Bilakhia 2-0-13-0

Baroda (2nd innings):
C Williams c H Das b B Mohanty 10
S Parab b D Mohanty 1
A Bilakhia batting 46
R Solanki c Jayachandra b B Mohanty 0
S Gaekwad batting 58
Extras: (LB-1, NB-4) 5
Total: (for 3 wickets in 44 overs) 120

Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-11, 3-11

Bowling: D Mohanty 12-8-19-1, B Mohanty 13-3-26-2, P Jayachandra 6-3-14-0, S Sehgal 6-0-28-0, R Mohanty 4-0-22-0, N Behera 3-0-10-0

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.