NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Dheeraj Jadhav hits ton in drawn tie

Dheeraj Jadhav hits ton in drawn tie

December 04, 2005 20:21 IST

Maharashtra opener Dheeraj Jadhav scored a century as their four-day Elite Group 'A' Ranji Trophy match against Gujarat ended in a tame draw in Valsad on Sunday.

A slender first innings lead of 14 runs fetched Gujarat two points.

Jadhav's 108 was studded with 14 fours before he was stumped off Satish Yadav.

Maharashtra, having conceded a lead of 14 to the hosts, set a victory target of 246 runs as they declared their second innings at 259 for seven soon after lunch today.

Jadhav's took over four-and-a-quarter hours to bring up his seventh first class hundred, facing 206 balls.

Former India batsman Hrishikesh Kanitkar made a painstaking 38 in three hours while all-rounder Sairaj Bahutule made 31.

Hemal Watekar bagged three for 49 for Gujarat.

Chasing the stiff victory target, Gujarat made 97 for two in 46 overs before the game ended in a stalemate. India discard Parthiv Patel, promoted to open the innings, and Nilesh Modi were the batsmen out in the home team's second essay.

Maharashtra play Delhi in their next round tie in Delhi (Dec 9-12).

Maharashtra (1st innings): 244

Gujarat (1st innings): 258

Maharashtra (Overnight 104 for 1):
 M Nigade b Trivedi 17
 D Jadhav st P Patel b Yadav 108
 H Kanitkar c P Patel b Majumdar 38
 A Kale c N Patel b Watekar 17
 S Bahutule c N Patel b Watekar 31
 S Satbhai run out 7
 M Patel b Watekar 11
 Y Pawar not out 6
 A Sanklecha not out 8
 Extras: (b 2, lb 4, nb 7, w 3) 16
 Total: (for 7 wickets declared) 259

Fall of wickets: 1-25, 2-157, 3-189, 4-212, 5-233, 6-235, 7-248.

Bowling: Siddhartha Trivedi 16-4-49-1, Lalit Patel 11-1-38-0, Hitesh Majumdar 16-2-45-1, Hemal Watekar 16-4-49-3, Salil Yadav 10-0-48-1, Niraj Patel 5-0-24-0.

Gujarat (2nd innings):
 A Christian not out 50
 P Patel c Pawar b Burkul 11
 N Modi run out 23
 M Parmar not out 8
 Extras: (b 2, lb 1, nb 2) 5
 Total: (for two wickets) 97

Fall of wickets: 1-12, 2-60.

Bowling: Munaf Patel 9-3-16-0, Suyash Burkul 7-1-21-1, Rohit Jadhav 16-3-32-0, Sairaj Bahutule 14-3-25-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.