NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Nayar joins Mumbai run-feast against Baroda

Nayar joins Mumbai run-feast against Baroda

January 07, 2013 17:28 IST

Mumbai consolidated their position on Day 2 of the Ranji Trophy quarter-final against Baroda at the Wankhede stadium on Monday.

Resuming at the overnight score of 272 for 3, the hosts continued to pile on the runs to end the day on 524 for 6.

Abhishek Nayar was unbeaten on a well-made 122. Giving him company was Ankit Chavan on 17, the two having put on 55 for the seventh wicket.

It was Nayar's 11th first class hundred and the third of the season, following back-to-back tons in Mumbai's two opening matches -- 107 not out against Railways and an unbeaten 105 against holders Rajasthan.

Despite losing Wasim Jaffer early in the day, the opener adding only 13 more runs to his overnight score before being cleaned up by Gagandeep Singh for 150 in the day's seventh over, the 39-time champions rode on two partnerships to bolster their innings.

Nayar and night-watchman Dhaval  Kulkarni (27) put on 70 runs for the fifth wicket before the former added another 123 runs with stumper Aditya Tare (64) in what was an impressive sixth-wicket partnership.

The Baroda bowlers toiled the whole day without much success, as was the case on the opening day, as Mumbai made sure they had enough runs on the board to put their opponents under pressure.


Mumbai (1st innings): 
Wasim Jaffer b Gagandeep 150
Kaustubh Pawar lbw Vahora 8
Hiken Shah c Pathan b Bhatt 9
Sachin Tendulkar b Vahora 108
Dhaval Kulkarni c Shah b Vahora 27
Abhishek Nayar not out 122
Aditya Tare c Shah b Chauhan 64
Ankit Chavan not out 17
Extras: (1nb, 3wb, 4b, 2lb): 19.
Total: (For six wickets, 180 overs): 524 for 6. 

To bat: Ajit Agarkar, Vishal Dabholkar, Javed Khan 

Fall of wickets: 1-24, 2-35, 3-269, 4-286, 5-356, 6-479.

Bowling: Murutza Vahora 39-11-89-3, Gagandeep Singh 36-6-101-1, Bhargav Bhatt 36-6-105-1, Ketul Patel 35-6-114-0, Abhimanyu Chauhan 19-4-53-1, Ambati Rayudu 6-1-18-0, Aditya Waghmode 9-0-29-0 

Baroda: Yusuf Pathan (Capt), Ambati Rayudu (Vice-Captain), Pinal Shah (WK), Aditya Waghmode, Abhimanyu Chauhan, Sourabh Wakaskar, Kedar Devdhar, Bhargav Bhatt, Murtuza Vahora, Gagandeep Singh Natt, Ketul Patel.

Bikash Mohapatra