NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Tendulkar in, injured Zaheer out of Mumbai's Ranji quarter-final

Tendulkar in, injured Zaheer out of Mumbai's Ranji quarter-final

Last updated on: January 03, 2013 16:09 IST

Senior batsman Sachin Tendulkar will boost Mumbai's batting in their Ranji Trophy quarter-final against Baroda, in Mumbai from January 6, but the 39-time champions will miss pace spearhead Zaheer Khan, who is sidelined with a calf injury.

Tendulkar recently retired from One-Day Internationals and is available for Mumbai's remaining Ranji campaign, but Zaheer is out with a calf injury sustained during the team's last league game against Gujarat at the D Y Patil stadium in Navi Mumbai.

Sachin Tendulkar"Zaheer has sustained a calf injury and is currently in rehab mode at the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore," said Mumbai Cricket Association joint-secretary and selection meeting convenor Nitin Dalal.

The team, selected for the knock-out game scheduled at the Wankhede stadium, will be led by Ajit Agarkar, who is fit after missing the tie against Gujarat due to an injury.

Mumbai will also miss the services of key batsmen Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma, both members of India's ODI squad now playing against Pakistan.

Mumbai squad: Ajit Agarkar (Captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Wasim Jaffer, Suryakumar Yadav, Dhaval Kulkarni, Kaustubh Pawar, Abhishek Nayar, Hiken Shah, Aditya Tare, Ankit Chavan, Nikhil Patil (Jr.), Javed Khan, Shoaib Shaikh, Shardul Thakur and Vishal Dabholkar.

Coach: Sulakshan Kulkarni.

Check out the schedule:

Ranji Trophy 2012-13 (Indian domestic cricket)
Date Match Venue Time
Jan 6-10 Quarter-final 1: Mumbai v Baroda Mumbai 0930 IST
Jan 6-10 Quarter-final 2: Punjab v Jharkhand Jamshedpur 0930 IST
Jan 6-10 Quarter-final 3: Saurashtra v Karnataka Rajkot 0930 IST
Jan 6-10 Quarter-final 4: Uttar Pradesh v Services Indore 0930 IST
Jan 16-20 First semi-final TBA* 0930 IST
Jan 16-20 Second semi-final TBA* 0930 IST
Jan 26-30 FINAL TBA* 0930 IST
(TBA=To be announced)

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.