NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » McCullum scripts NZ T20 series win over Pak

McCullum scripts NZ T20 series win over Pak

December 28, 2010 15:25 IST

Nathan McCullum took four wickets, including two in two balls, as New Zealand wrapped up a Twenty20 series victory over Pakistan with a 39-run win in their second match at Seddon Park on Tuesday.

Off-spinner McCullum, principally bowling around the wicket, cleverly varied his pace, flight and angles to bamboozle the Pakistani batsmen, and finished with figures of 4-16 off his four overs and the man of the match award.

Pakistan opener Mohammad Hafeez had looked set to anchor the visitors' run chase of 186 for victory, racing through to 46 before Umar Akmal called him through for a second run, stopped mid-pitch, and left the 30-year-old stranded and glaring back at the youngster as Peter McGlashan removed the bails.

Hafeez's dismissal came just one ball after Ahmed Shehzad had been well caught in the deep by Scott Styris for 15 after the pair had combined for a 44-run second wicket partnership and seemingly set to provide a launch pad for their batters.

New Zealand opener Martin Guptill followed up his 54 in the first match on Sunday with 44 and shared in a 91-run second wicket partnership with James Franklin (40), while Scott Styris smashed a blistering 34 from 14 balls.

Wicketkeeper McGlashan (26) provided some late excitement with his innovative batting producing 24 runs, including two reverse slaps for six, from the first five deliveries in the 18th over by Umar Gul, who bowled a bouncer on the final ball to concede only a bye.

Captain Ross Taylor finished 30 not out while off-spinner Saeed Ajmal finished with 3-35, which included two wickets in New Zealand's final over.

New Zealand won the first game in Auckland by five wickets, with the final match in the series scheduled for Thursday in Christchurch.


New Zealand:
Jesse Ryder c Umar Akmal b Razzaq 0
Martin Guptill c Afridi b Ajmal 44
James Franklin c Umar Akmal b Afridi 40
Ross Taylor not out 30
Scott Styris c Shehzad b Shoaib 34
Peter McGlashan lbw Wahab 26
Nathan McCullum c Shafiq b Ajmal 1
Kyle Mills std Umar Akmal b Ajmal 0
Extras: (B1, LB4, W4, NB-1) 10
Total: (for 7 wkts in 20 overs) 185

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-91, 3-94, 4-133, 5-175, 6-184, 7-185

Bowling: Abdul Razzaq 2-0-12-1, Shoaib Akhtar 4-0-42-1, Umar Gul 3-0-47-0, Wahab Riaz 3-0-22-1, Shahid Afridi 4-0-22-1,Saeed Ajmal 4-0-35-3.

Mohammad Hafeez run out 46
Shahid Afridi b Mills 7
Ahmed Shehzad c Styris b Butler 15
Umar Akmal c McCullum b Southee 26
Younis Khan c McGlashan b McCullum 3
Asad Shafiq b McCullum 6
Abdul Razzaq c McGlashan b McCullum 14
Umar Gul c Guptill b McCullum 0
Wahab Riaz c McCullum b Southee 18
Shoaib Akhtar not out 5
Sajeed Ajmal not out 0
Extras: (LB5,W1) 6
Total: (for 9 wickets in 20 overs) 146

Fall of wickets: 1-24, 2-68, 3-69, 4-76, 5-96, 6-114, 7-114, 8-141, 9-141.

Bowling: James Franklin 1-0-10-0, Kyle Mills 3-0-34-1, Tim Southee 4-0-26-2, Ian Butler 4-0-35-1, Luke Woodcock 4-0-20-0, Nathan McCullum 4-0-16-4.

© Copyright 2018 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.