NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Mumbai Indians add 11 uncapped players to squad

Mumbai Indians add 11 uncapped players to squad

Last updated on: January 18, 2011 22:20 IST

Mumbai Indians has added 11 uncapped players to their squad for the fourth season of the Indian Premier League.

They are: Ambati Rayudu, R Sathish, T Suman, Dhawal Kulkarni, Pawan Suyal, Abu Nechim, Ali Murtaza, Sarul Kanwar, Yuzvendra Chahal, S K Yadav and Aditya Tare.

While Rayudu, Kulkarni, Suyal, Nechim, Tare and Murtaza were an integral part of Mumbai Indians' success story in the third season of the league, Suman will don the colours of last season's runners-up for the first time.

- How the IPL teams stand after the auction

Also making their debut for the team are Sarul Kanwar, a right-hand opening batsman from Punjab; 20-year-old leg spinner from Haryana Yuzvendra Chahal and S K Yadav, another 20-year-old right-hand batsman from Mumbai.

Announcing the final squad, a statement from the franchise said: "We are delighted to add 11 talented players to our squad for IPL season 4. We believe the addition of new players will further strengthen our core beliefs, besides ably supporting the exceptional all round talent, which we have successfully bid for at the IPL 4 auction. By adding fresh talent, we reinforce our promise to promote young talent at an international platform."

Earlier, at the Season IV auction, Mumbai Indians had successfully bid for Rohit Sharma, Munaf Patel, Andrew Symonds, Davy Jacobs, Clint McKay, James Franklin, Moises Henriques and Aiden Blizzard.

Mumbai Indians had retained their captain, Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, Kieron Pollard and Lasith Malinga.