NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Franklin steers New Zealand to unexpected win

Franklin steers New Zealand to unexpected win

January 20, 2013 11:24 IST

A superb rear-guard knock of 47 not out from James Franklin helped New Zealand pull off an improbable one-wicket victory against South Africa in the first one-day international on Saturday.

New Zealand, who elected to field first, bowled out South Africa for 208 on a slow pitch after debutant Mitchell McClenaghan and off-spinner Kane Williamson stifled the hosts by taking four wickets apiece. Faf Du Plessis (57) was the only South African to reach the half-century mark.

South African-born BJ Watling (45) kept New Zealand above the required rate but the visitors lost their way and stumbled to 140 for eight in the 33rd over.

However, Franklin and lower-order batsman Kyle Mills (26), produced some dogged batting to guide New Zealand to an unlikely one-wicket victory. The result handed New Zealand a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

The Proteas came into the game on top of the ICC ODI rankings but had not played 50-over cricket since September and the top order struggled to cope with the difficult pitch.

Hashim Amla (13), Graeme Smith (7) and AB De Villiers (7) were all trapped in front of their stumps to reduce the home side to 37 for three in the 12th over.

Colin Ingram (29) and debutant Quinton de Kock (18) offered du Plessis some support, but both were well caught by Nathan McCullum to end useful partnerships and leave the home side 119 for five in the 30th over.

Du Plessis remained steadfast, and, with the help of a quick-fire 33 from 39 balls by all-rounder Ryan McLaren, was able to give the innings some much-needed momentum.


James FranklinThe right-handed Du Plessis brought up his fifth ODI fifty with a boundary to fine leg off Kyle Mills in the 39th over, and by that stage South Africa were 171 for five.

McLaren fell soon after, beginning a procession of wickets, including that of Du Plessis, which were shared between Williamson and McClenaghan.

Rory Kleinveldt (26) struck three big sixes to get the score past the 200 mark in the 46th over, and was the last to be dismissed with 22 deliveries still remaining in the innings.

New Zealand's reply got off to a poor start as opener Martin Guptill was run out without facing a ball and fellow opener Rob Nicol (4) fell soon after to Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

When Williamson became Tsotsobe's second victim in the eighth over, New Zealand were in trouble at 21 for three.

Captain Brendon McCullum (26) joined Watling and the pair began to steady the innings. However, their 52-run partnership ended amid farcical scenes as a power failure at Boland Park denied the skipper a review when he was adjudged lbw in the 18th over off Rory Kleinveldt.

Wickets continued to tumble during the black-out and when the power was finally restored, Zealand still required a further 69 runs for victory.

But Franklin, who had survived an umpire review for a catch in the 32nd over, and Mills frustrated the home side.

Mills was bowled by McLaren in the 44th over with 22 runs still needed, but Franklin continued to keep the South Africans at bay and a cover-drive for four guided his team over the line with 26 balls to spare.


South Africa innings:
H. Amla lbw b Mills 13
G. Smith lbw b McClenaghan 7
C. Ingram c N. McCullum b Williamson 29 Villiers lbw b McClenaghan 7
F. du Plessis c Nicol b Williamson 57 Kock c N. McCullum b Franklin 18
R. McLaren c B. McCullum b Williamson 33
R. Peterson lbw b McClenaghan 0
R. Kleinveldt c Mills b Williamson 26
D. Steyn b McClenaghan 0
L. Tsotsobe not out 0
Extras (b-4, lb-3, nb-1, w-10) 18
Total (all out, 46.2 overs) 208

Fall of wickets: 1-25, 2-27, 3-37, 4-83, 5-119, 6-178, 7-179, 8-182, 9-182

Bowling: Mills 8-1-55-1, McClenaghan 10-2-20-4, N. McCullum 6-0-34-0, Franklin 10-1-44-1, Williamson 7.2-0-22-4, Neesham 4-0-22-0, Elliott 1-0-4-0

New Zealand innings
R. Nicol c Smith b Tsotsobe 4
M. Guptill run out 0
B.J. Watling b McLaren 45
K. Williamson c du Plessis b Tsotsobe 5
B. McCullum lbw b Kleinveldt 26
G. Elliott c Smith b Kleinveldt 1
J. Franklin not out 47
J. Neesham lbw b McLaren 0
N. McCullum lbw b McLaren 24
K. Mills b McLaren 26
M. McClenaghan not out 0
Extras (lb-13, nb-3, w-15) 31
Total (for nine wickets, 45.4 overs) 209

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-4, 3-21, 4-73, 5-81, 6-105, 7-105, 8-140, 9-187

Bowling: Steyn 10-3-33-0, Tsotsobe 8-2-43-2, Kleinveldt 9-0-37-2, McLaren 8.4-0-46-4, Peterson 10-0-37-0 

Photograph: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images/Getty Images

© Copyright 2018 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.