NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » CLT20 to be held from October 9 to 28

CLT20 to be held from October 9 to 28

July 03, 2012 13:42 IST

Johannesburg and Cape Town were among the four venues finalised for the fourth edition of the Champions League Twenty20 tournament, which will be held from October 9 to October 28.

Centurion and Durban are the other two venues announced by the CLT20 Governing Council.

The event will feature a galaxy of international stars, who will be part of 14 champion teams, from as many as eight countries.

Apart from finalising the host venues, the governing council has also confirmed the teams.

The teams which have made it to the tournament are Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, defending champions Mumbai Indians (from India), Auckland Aces (New Zealand), Trinidad & Tobago (West Indies), Sydney Sixers, Perth Scorchers (Australia) Titans, Highveld Lions (South Africa).

Pakistan will be represented for the first time ever by Sialkot Stallions.

The representatives from Sri Lanka and England will be decided after next month's Sri Lanka Premier League and the ongoing Friends Life T20.

The CLT20, the most lucrative club-cricket tournament in the world, is now in its fourth year, and it will be the second time that it is held in South Africa.

India had hosted the tournament in 2009 and 2011 and were originally frontrunners to hold the competition in 2012 as well.

The last time South Africa had hosted the tournament, in 2010, Chennai Super Kings defeated Warriors in the final in Johannesburg.

Of the already qualified teams, the Titans, Stallions and Australia's two new Big Bash League Twenty20 teams, the Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers, will be making their first appearance in the tournament.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.