NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Check out ICC Champions Trophy schedule

Check out ICC Champions Trophy schedule

May 18, 2017 19:32 IST

India will launch its ICC Champions Trophy title defence against traditional rivals Pakistan at Edgbaston, Birmingham, on June 4.

The 18-day tournament, from June 1 to 18, will also see matches played at the Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff and The Oval in London.

A couple of days before the two Asian powerhouses go head to head, Australia and New Zealand will lock horns in a repeat of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 final at Edgbaston.

Hosts and two-time finalist England will take on Bangladesh in the tournament opener at The Oval, which will also be the venue for a battle between former champions Sri Lanka and South Africa on June 3.

The top eight sides on the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings on September 30, 2015 have qualified for the tournament, with World champion Australia seeded number-one.

Australia head Group A, which also includes fourth seeds New Zealand, sixth seeds England and seventh seeds Bangladesh, who will be returning to the competition for the first time since 2006.

Defending champions India is seeded second and leads Group B, which also comprises third seed South Africa, fifth seed Sri Lanka and eighth seed Pakistan.

The top two sides from each group will progress to the semi-finals, which will be played at Cardiff and Edgbaston on June 14 and 15 respectively, with The Oval hosting the final.

Check out the full schedule:

Date Match Venue Time
June 1 Group A: England v Bangladesh Oval, London 1500 IST
June 2 Group A: Australia v New Zealand Birmingham 1500 IST
June 3 Group B: Sri Lanka v South Africa Oval, London 1500 IST
June 4 Group B: India v Pakistan Birmingham 1500 IST
June 5 Group A: Australia v Bangladesh Oval, London 1800 IST
June 6 Group A: England v New Zealand Cardiff 1500 IST
June 7 Group B: Pakistan v South Africa Birmingham 1800 IST
June 8 Group B: India v Sri Lanka Oval, London 1500 IST
June 9 Group A: New Zealand v Bangladesh Cardiff 1500 IST
June 10 Group A: England v Australia Birmingham 1500 IST
June 11 Group B: India v South Africa Oval, London 1500 IST
June 12 Group B: Sri Lanka v Pakistan Cardiff 1500 IST
June 14 First semi-final Cardiff 1500 IST
June 15 Second semi-final Birmingham 1500 IST
June 18 FINAL Oval, London 1500 IST

Photograph: Harry Trump/Getty Images