NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Ashes: Aus name unchanged 12-man squad for fourth Test

Ashes: Aus name unchanged 12-man squad for fourth Test

December 19, 2010 17:05 IST

Australia named an unchanged 12-man squad for the fourth Test in Melbourne following the team's dominant 267-run win over England in Perth on Sunday.


Opening batsman Phillip Hughes has retained his place in the side following twin failures at the WACA ground, while untried spinner Michael Beer holds hopes of being selected for Melbourne after being the only man left out in Perth.

Captain Ricky Ponting remains the sole injury concern after breaking his little finger in a catch attempt during the dismissal of England batsman Jonathan Trott on Saturday.

Ponting rated himself a good chance to play in Melbourne despite admitting that the injury was 'sore and angry'.

"Should the NSP (National Selection Panel) determine the need for a standby player for Ricky Ponting, this will be announced in due course," a team statement said.

Australia will head to Melbourne on Wednesday ahead of the fourth Test, which starts on December 26.

Team: Ricky Ponting (c), Michael Clarke, Michael Beer, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Phillip Hughes, Ben Hilfenhaus, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Steve Smith, Shane Watson.

© Copyright 2017 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.