Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > India > Cricket > Indian Cricket League > Report

Rs 3.24 crore for ICL 20s World Series

April 08, 2008 21:05 IST

The Indian Cricket League announced a prize-money corpus of Rs 3.24 crore for its upcoming 'ICL 20s World Series 2008', from April 9 to 15, at a press conference in Hyderabad on Tuesday.

The winners of the tournament, to be played at the Lal Bahadur Shastri stadium, Hyderabad, stand to gain Rs 1.25 crore, the runners-up Rs 75 lakh and the third-placed team Rs 50 lakh.

Every victory in the seven-match tournament, which will have each team play each other twice, is also guaranteed Rs 10 lakh of Rs 60 lakh on offer at the league stage.

The incentive for individual performances during the seven matches is an impressive Rs 2 lakh for Man of the Match.

"The level of cricket at the ICL is on an ascendancy mode. At the recently-concluded Edelweiss 20s Challenge, we saw our boys come out with stand-out performances, which shaped the results of some high standard cricket matches.

"With ICL 20s World Series 2008, our promising domestic boys will face the toughest challenge of proving their cricketing credentials against two of the mightiest teams in the world. These Indian players have been selected after a thorough selection process by the Executive Board along with the selection committee, based on their growth as cricketers and respective individual performance," said Kapil Dev, Chairman, Executive Board, Indian Cricket League.

Inzaman-ul Haq will lead the formidable ICL Pakistan team, Chris Cairns will lead a galaxy of international stalwarts representing ICL World and R Sathish will lead the formidable ICL India.

Moin Khan has been named coach of the Pakistan side, England off-spinner John Emburey will coach the World team and former Australian wicketkeeper Steve Rixon will coach the Indian team.

The high-octane 20-over format matches will be broadcasted live on Ten Sports & Zee Sports from 1900 IST to 2200 IST.

The teams:

ICL World:
Chris Cairns (Captain),
Mathew Elliot
Andrew Hall
Daryl Tuffey
Lou Vincent
Marvan Atapattu
Russel Arnold
Damien Martin
Michael Kasprowicz
Upul Chandana
Chris Harris
John Wandrewath
Ian Harvey
Jimmy Maher.
Coach: John Emburey

ICL India
R Sathish (Captain)
Abhishek Jhunjhunwala
Ambati Rayudu
G Vignesh
Abbas Ali
Rohan Gavaskar
Ravi Raj Patil
Stuart Binny
V Sarvannan
Syed Mohammad
T P Singh
Ali Murtaza
Abu Nachiem
Thiru Kumaran
Love Ablish
Ibrahim Khaleel
T Sudhindra
Coach: Steve Rixon

ICL Pakistan:
Inzamam ul Haq (Captain)
Taufiq Umar
Imran Farhat
Rana Naveed Ul hasan
Abdul Razzak
Arshad Khan
Naveed Latif
Humyun Farhat
Shahid Nazir
Hasan Raza
Mohmmed Sami
Imran Nazir
Riaz Afridi
Shabbir Ahmed
Coach: Moin Khan


Wednesday, April 9: India vs World

Thursday, April 10: Pakistan vs World

Friday, April 11: India vs Pakistan.

Saturday, April 12: India vs World

Sunday, April 13: India vs Pakistan

Monday, April 14: Pakistan vs World

Tuesday, April 15: FINAL

  • Complete coverage: Indian Cricket League

  • Advertisement