Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:
Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > India > Cricket > Indian Cricket League > Report

Hyderabad Heroes upset Lahore Badshahs in first final

April 04, 2008 23:14 IST

In a nail-biting finish, Hyderabad Heroes kept their nerves to snatch a six-run win in the first of the best-of-three finals of the ICL Twenty20 tournament played under floodlights in Panchkula on Friday night.

Chasing 144, Badshahs needed 12 runs in the final over which was bowled by former Pakistan all-rounder Abdul Razzaq, who bowled three wides.

However, the dramatic over saw Rana Naved-ul-Hasan getting run out, Razzaq hitting the stumps to get rid of Mohammed Sami and Shahid Nazir, to seal victory.

Earlier, Hyderabad Heroes, who defeated defending champions Chennai Superstars to reach the finals, had a somewhat slow start and were 64 for two in the 10th over.

Former Australian player and Heroes opener Jimmy Maher struck 33 in 34 balls while his partner Razzaq struck a quickfire 21 of 12 balls.

One-down Ambati Rayudu was looking in good touch, but was the first among three batsmen to get run out after making 44 off 42 balls, which included two sixes.

The middle-order failed to maintain a healthy run rate, with former South African all-rounder Justin Kemp consuming 20 balls for his 11 before being bowled by Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, who turned out to be the most expensive bowler for the Badshahs, conceding 47 runs.

Stuart Binny (3) and skipper Chris Harris (8) were run out without making much contribution.

It was a capacity crowd at Tau Devi Lal stadium and fans carrying both Indian and Pakistani flags could be spotted in great numbers as cheergirls made sure that they were on their feet throughout to cheer their respective teams.

Badshahs were three down at one stage with just 36 runs on the board having lost opener Imran Farhat (5), Humayun Farhat (12) and Hasan Raza (5) in quick succession.

Inzamam, who came at Raza's fall, hit Nicky Boje for a towering six straight over the bowler's head to ease the pressure.

However, in the very next over, the Badshahs skipper (8) was caught and bowled by Stuart Binny, who had in his previous over claimed Raza LBW.

Even though opener Taufeeq Umar was holding forte, he was losing partners at the other end at regular intervals as the required run rate kept mounting.

Badshahs, who had not tasted defeat in this tournament so far, were five down for 65, with Naved Latif (11) too, being out in similar fashion as Inzamam, but off the bowling of Chris Harris in the 13th over.

Needing 57 runs in the last five overs, Taufeeq found some support from all-rounder Azhar Mahmood who tried to take the attack to the opposition.

However, just when he looked set to take the Badshahs close to the target, having struck 34 in just 16 balls including two sixes, he was run out by a direct hit from Maher.

The winner of this tournament will pocket Rs 2.5 crore while the first runners-up will get Rs 1.25 crore.

  • Complete coverage: Indian Cricket League

  • Advertisement