Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > Cricket > Reuters > Report

New Zealand scramble to victory

December 09, 2006 12:55 IST

New Zealand secured a nervous five-wicket victory in the low-scoring first Test match against Sri Lanka in Christchurch on Saturday.

Set a target of just 119 after Sri Lanka were dismissed for 170 in their second innings, the hosts lost four wickets for ten runs to be 68 for four before they scrambled home just after tea on day three.

Kumar Sangakkara (100 no) struck his 11th Test century to give the tourists hope after they resumed on their overnight 125 for eight, but he ran out of partners as Sri Lanka looked to post a tricky target on an inconsistent Jade Stadium track.

New Zealand started their chase promisingly, openers Craig Cumming (43) and Jamie How reaching 58 without loss before a slump of four wickets for ten runs gave Sri Lanka cause for optimism.

How was trapped in front by Muttiah Muralitharan for 11 before Cumming was caught behind off Chaminda Vaas with the score on 66.

Skipper Stephen Fleming got a three-ball duck when he was caught lbw by Vaas before Muralitharan completed the collapse by having Mathew Sinclair caught by Sangakkara for four to make it 68 for four.

But Nathan Astle (24) calmed matters with a stand of 35 with Jacob Oram (12 not out) before he again fell leg before to Muralitharan.


Brendon McCullum went in for a quick kill as he struck two fours and a six in his breezy 14 to take the Kiwis over the finishing line, hitting the winning runs to the midwicket boundary.

Earlier, Sri Lanka lost Lasith Malinga for a 28-ball duck and Muralitharan run out for eight while Sangakkara, starting the day on 63, was stranded on 100.

Malinga's vigil was ended when he was caught behind by McCullum to earn James Franklin his second wicket.

The innings ended in controversial manner when Muralitharan was run out by McCullum after completing the single that earned Sangakkara his century.

Umpire Brian Jerling deemed the ball to still be alive when the off-spinner went to congratulate his team mate and he was given run out when McCullum broke the stumps to the consternation of the Sri Lankan duo.

The second and final Test starts at Wellington's Basin Reserve on Dec 15.


Sri Lanka 1st innings 154

New Zealand 1st innings 206 (D. Vettori 63; M. Muralitharan 4-65)

Sri Lanka 2nd innings (Overnight: 125-8)
U. Tharanga c Fleming b Bond 24
S. Jayasuriya run out 10
K. Sangakkara not out 100
M. Jayawardene c Fleming b Franklin 0
C. Kapugedera c Oram b Bond 1
C. Silva c Vettori b Bond 0
P. Jayawardene run out 11
C. Vaas c McCullum b Oram 0
F. Maharoof c McCullum b Bond 7
L. Malinga c McCullum b Franklin 0
M. Muralitharan run out 8
Extras (lb-5 nb-4) 9
Total (all out, 53.1 overs) 170
Fall of wickets: 1-18 2-44 3-45 4-46 5-46 6-74 7-80 8-99 9-143 10-170
S. Bond 19.1 - 5 - 63 - 4 (nb-3)
C. Martin 11 - 2 - 38 - 0
J. Franklin 13 - 1 - 34 - 2 (nb-1)
J. Oram 7 - 1 - 19 - 1
D. Vettori 2 - 0 - 10 - 0
N. Astle 1 - 0 - 1 - 0

New Zealand 2nd innings (Target: 119 runs)
C. Cumming c P. Jayawardene b Vaas 43
J. How lbw b Muralitharan 11
M. Sinclair c Sangakkara b Muralitharan 4
S. Fleming lbw b Vaas 0
N. Astle lbw b Muralitharan 24
J. Oram not out 12
B. McCullum not out 14
Extras (b-1 lb-1 nb-4 w-5) 11
Total (for 5 wickets, 33 overs) 119

Fall of wickets: 1-58 2-66 3-66 4-68 5-103

Did not bat: D. Vettori, J. Franklin, S. Bond, C. Martin

C. Vaas 12 - 3 - 33 - 2 (nb-3)
L. Malinga 4 - 1 - 35 - 0 (w-1)
M. Muralitharan 14 - 5 - 34 - 3
F. Maharoof 3 - 0 - 15 - 0 (nb-1)

© Copyright 2006 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

Share your comments


Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.