Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article
Home > Cricket > The Cup > Report

Srinath match ref for Australia's first two WC matches

March 02, 2007 19:20 IST

Related Articles
'Irfan will bounce back, do good for India'
Pics: Onward to World Cup glory

Javagal Srinath is among seven match referees who will officiate in the group matches at the forthcoming World Cup.

The former India fast bowler figures in a list of 16 officials, dubbed the "17th team" by the International Cricket Council. He will officiate in two opening stage matches -- the Group A game between Australia and Scotland at St Kitts and Nevis on March 14, and the Australia-Netherlands game at the same venue on March 18.

Of the eight members on the Elite Panel of ICC match referees, seven have been selected to officiate, the only man missing is Clive Lloyd, who is team manager for the hosts, West Indies.

The list of three reserve umpires include India's Suresh Shastri, along with Nigel Llong (England) and Russell Tiffin (Zimbabwe).

"The 16 people really are the 17th team in this year's tournament and they will work just as hard as the players to ensure they perform to the highest possible standards," said David Richardson, ICC's General Manager, Cricket.

Steve Bucknor (West Indies) and Asoka de Silva (Sri Lanka) will officiate in India's first warm-up match against the Netherlands in Jamaica on March 6, while Brian Jerling (South Africa) and De Silva will stand in the game against the West Indies in Jamaica on March 9.

Australian Alan Hurst will be the match referee in India's Group B opener against Bangladesh on March 17 at Port-of-Spain, while Pakistan's Aleem Dar and Steve Davis of Australia are the on-field umpires.

Hurst will remain match referee when India meets minnows Bermuda on March 19 at the same venue while Dar and South African Ian Howell would be the on-field umpires.

Former New Zealand skipper Jeff Crowe will be match referee in the March 23 India-Sri Lanka tie at Port-of-Spain, with Dar and Harper being the on-field umpires.

The appointments for the Super 8s stage of the tournament will be made later, the ICC said.

Umpiring Team: Mark Benson, Brent Bowden, Steve Bucknor, Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Billy Doctrove, Ian Gould, Daryl Harper, Tony Hill, Ian Howell, Brian Jerling, Rudi Koertzen, Peter Parker, Asad Rauf, Asoka de Silva, Simon Taufel.

Match Referees' Team: Chris Broad, Jeff Crowe, Alan Hurst, Ranjan Madugalle, Roshan Mahanama, Javagal Srinath, Mike Procter.

The Cup: The Complete Coverage

Would you like to join the Cricket and Cricket Lovers Discussion Group and discuss your cricket views with other cricket freaks? Click here. Have fun!