Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article
Home > Cricket > The Cup > Statistics

MVP Day 28: Will today again be Jayasuriya's day?

Srinivas Bhogle | April 12, 2007 18:45 IST

Today's match between Sri Lanka and New Zealand will feature five of the top ten most valuable players (MVP). Sanath Jayasuriya, in particular, faces the challenge of retaining his top spot. He should stay there unless he is dismissed early and someone like Scott Styris (3), or Shane Bond (7), has an outstanding game.

Syed Rasel of Bangladesh (39 -> 26) was helped by a marvellous bowling spell of 10-3-25-2. England's Sajid Mahmood (44 -> 27) too advanced after his figures of 8.2-0-27-3. Kevin Pietersen (8 -> 14) had a bad day scoring just 10 in 25 balls. Michael Vaughan's laboured 30 in 59 balls helped him move from 82 -> 81. He's getting better, isn't he?

RankCountryPlayerRunsBallsCt | StRcBbWRun OutsMTotalAverage
1SLSanath Jayasuriya2752411105170424513.20128.30
2AusMatthew Hayden 347300104459.00114.75
3NZScott Styris1772183119180714399.6099.90
4NZJacob Oram83131293177824335.8083.95
5SAJacques Kallis3133813173192405412.8082.56
6SAAndre Nel15299120602149.0074.50
7NZShane Bond00083202904294.6073.65
8EngAndrew Flintoff 721103168265905331.0066.20
9SAAB De Villiers253247405328.4065.68
10SLLasith Malinga2911651821114258.4064.60
11AusRicky Ponting212233404257.6064.40
12AusNathan Bracken 001118192804232.6058.15
13AusMichael Clarke 18818522724004230.2057.55
14EngKevin Pietersen 280366126015287.0057.40
15AusGlenn McGrath 0001601771004221.6055.40
16WIDaren Powell55500232294805265.2053.04
17SLMuttiah Muralitharan332156228704208.0052.00
18AusAdam Gilchrist 1351324 | 204204.4051.10
19NZDaniel Vettori570149226704204.2051.05
20SAGraeme Smith193225310784305253.2050.64
21SLMahela Jayawardene196275124201.0050.25
22SAHerschelle Gibbs171184625248.8049.76
23SLTillakaratne Dilshan10210414884124193.0048.25
24EngPaul Collingwood 1602355166192325240.6048.12
25SLDilhara Fernando221609630296.2048.10
26BanSyed Rasel 14211146222604191.8047.95
27EngSajid Mahmood 240171208724188.2047.05
28NZStephen Fleming164180004184.0046.00
29EngLiam Plunkett 29340434210145.4045.40
30SLChaminda Vaas461106198504180.6045.15
31SLKumar Sangakkara 1081364 | 414179.2044.80
32WIDevon Smith332700144.4044.40
33SACharles Langeveldt10471219222914174.0043.50
34AusBrad Hogg 561173210704173.2043.30
35WIRamnaresh Sarwan22029915248105216.2043.24
36AusShaun Tait 000173189804170.2042.55
37EngPaul Nixon 1311455 | 125205.0041.00
38IreAndrew White869827491214162.4040.60
39IreTrent Johnston53542148138313119.2039.73
40AusShane Watson 4735181100123118.0039.33
41IreKyle McCallan28440135210404149.8037.45
42WIBrian Lara137162225178.4035.68
43WIShivnarine Chanderpaul191270105171.0034.20
44SAShaun Pollock37541204258435170.2034.04
45BanMohammad Rafique 40641161228415163.2032.64
46NZBrendon McCullum 473711 | 104129.4032.35
47BanAbdur Razzak 17230194244605160.8032.16
48EngMonty Panesar 120196264605159.6031.92
49NZHamish Marshall819801395.6031.87
50SAAndre Hall8131179213504122.0030.50
51WIChris Gayle1061491189212305150.4030.08
52SAMark Boucher 86765 | 015148.2029.64
53BanMohammad Ashraful 142168072005144.2028.84
54IreDave Langford-Smith 26230143186304111.4027.85
55EngIan Bell 160264125137.8027.56
56NZPeter Fulton9814200382.4027.47
57IreKevin O'Brien 781101595410381.2027.07
58EngJames Anderson 010192258505133.6026.72
59IreBoyd Rankin 490147162504103.4025.85
60BanAftab Ahmed 95110311015128.8025.76
61IreNiall O'Brien 1292194 | 004102.8025.70
62SLRussel Arnold7910402637104102.4025.60
63NZJames Franklin34221126156204102.2025.55
64SLChamara Silva108143004101.6025.40
65WIDwayne Bravo54751244216605125.8025.16
66SAMakhaya Ntini15201226264505124.2024.84
67WIDenesh Ramdin 73798 | 005122.8024.56
68BanSaqibul Hasan 1202191164179305121.0024.20
69EngRavinder Bopara 8398161200496.2024.05
70NZJeetan Patel000749020246.0023.00
71SLUpul Tharanga10817720484.4021.10
72AusAndrew Symonds 593111078610484.0021.00
73SAAshwell Prince495412483.8020.95
74WICorey Collymore1319014017420358.0019.33
75WIMarlon Samuels43621818412475.6018.90
76BanTamim Iqbal 8414132594.2018.84
77NZCraig McMillan8212006900469.2017.30
78IreAndre Botha 60115010913210348.6016.20
79EngAndrew Strauss 304720232.4016.20
80SLFarveez Maharoof591678410232.0016.00
81EngMichael Vaughan671350487211571.6014.32
82WIJerome Taylor2327013615610337.2012.40
83WILendl Simmons142610112.2012.20
84IreEoin Morgan 6312840443.6010.90
85AusBrad Hodge 0020110.0010.00
86BanMashrafe Mortaza 72106120022700545.809.16
87NZMichael Mason000184500218.009.00
88SARobin Petersen48122300018.608.60
89WIIan Bradshaw2662016717420322.607.53
90IreWilliam Porterfield 5612530427.006.75
91AusMichael Hussey 142120421.205.30
92EngEd Joyce 112830314.604.87
93IreJeremy Bray 428700414.403.60
94WIDwayne Smith17150474800413.403.35
95BanHabibul Bashar6014320515.603.12
96BanJaved Omar 39920024.402.20
97WIKieron Pollard1017020180010.800.80
98BanShahriar Nafees 10250030.000.00
99SALoots Bosman000010.000.00
100SAJustin Kemp135122724014-0.60-0.15
101NZRoss Taylor01001-0.80-0.80
102BanMushfiqur Rahim 21650 | 005-10.00-2.00
103IrePeter Gillespie 28001-2.40-2.40
104IreJohn Mooney 0102224001-3.60-3.60
105NZLou Vincent06001-4.80-4.80
106EngJamie Dalrymple 31212924001-8.40-8.40
107BanTapash Baisya 0003517001-21.40-21.40
108IrePaul Mooney 0104021001-24.00-24.00

Ct: Catches taken | St: Stumpings | Rc: Runs conceded | Bb: Balls bowled | W: Wickets taken | M: Matches played.*Run outs are counted as 1 for a direct hit, and 0.5 if the fielder is an equal participant in a run out dismissal.

The Chernoff gallery of the top nine Super Eight players after Day 28 appears below.

Here are the faces of the nine highest scoring batsmen in the Super Eight (total runs / scoring rate). If two players have scored the same number of runs, the player with the higher points appears first.

Recall that batsmen have round faces and a short and wide nose. They smile more when they score more runs.

Here are the faces of the nine highest wicket-taking bowlers in the Super Eight (wickets / no. of runs conceded per over). If two players have scored the same number of wickets, the player with the higher points appears first.

Bowlers have tapered faces, a tall and thin nose, and bigger ears if they take more wickets.

And, finally, here are the faces of the nine most successful fielders in the Super Eight (fielding points | run outs / catches / stumpings.

Fielders who take a lot of catches have wide eyebrows, and those that participate in run out dismissals have bigger eyes. Notice the large number of wicket-keepers in this list.

  • What is MVP?
  • MVP Day 27: Jayasuriya back at the top
  • ¬†

    This list, the Chernoff faces and other charts have been prepared by my colleagues Debasish Ghosh and K Anil Kumar of Cranes Software International Limited using the SYSTAT software.

    The Cup: The Complete Coverage

    Would you like to join the Cricket and Cricket Lovers Discussion Group and discuss your cricket views with other cricket freaks? Click here. Have fun!