News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

This article was first published 7 years ago  » Sports » 'Sportsperson of the Year' award goes to...

'Sportsperson of the Year' award goes to...

Source: PTI
Last updated on: July 07, 2017 16:45 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

PV Sindhu

IMAGE: Badminton coach Pullela Gopichand being felicitated by badminton player PV Sindhu and actress Tapsee Pannu during the Sportsperson of the Year charity gala awards in Mumbai on Thursday night. Photograph: PTI

Rio Olympics silver medallist P V Sindhu was bestowed with the Sportsperson of the Year award during the 'Maruti Suzuki Sportsperson of the Year' Charity Gala Awards on Thursday night.

The awards have been initiated by Sports Illustrated India Magazine and were given to various sportspersons for their achievements.

PV Sindhu with Deepa Malik

IMAGE: PV Sindhu, left, with Deepa Malik. Photograph: Twitter

Sindhu's coach P Gopichand received the Coach of the Year award while the Flying Sikh Milkha Singh was given the Living Legend of the Year award. However, Milkha could not attend the function.

Interestingly it was Sindhu who presented the award to ‘Gopi Sir'.

Young India cricketer K L Rahul, who made a mark in the last Test series against Australia, was awarded with Gamechanger of the Year award. Rahul was not at the function and his video message was shown.

Abhinav Bindra

IMAGE:  Indian shooter Abhinav Bindra after receiving the lifetime achievement award. Photograph: PTI

2008 Beijing Olympics gold medallist and the country's sole gold medal winner in individual events at Olympics, Abhinav Bindra was given the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Bindra, on a lighter note, said that at 34 he felt a little odd to receive it.

"As a 12-year-old boy, I hated sports. I had one talent that is to work hard," remarked the ace shooter.

Jwala Gutta

IMAGE:  Indian Paralympic javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia felicitated by badminton player Jwala Gutta. Photograph: PTI

Para athletes Devendra Jhajaria, Mariappan Thangavelu, Varun Bharti and Deepa Malik also received awards.

Badminton player Jwala Gutta, football great Bhaichung Bhutia, boxer Amir Khan and cricketer Pragyan Ojha were present in the ceremony.

The Awards:

Special award for service to Sports: Jayant Rastogi, CEO, Magic Bus.

Team of the year: Junjor Men's Hockey Team received by Captain Harjeet Singh.

Coach of the year: Pullela Gopichand.

Editor's Award for excellence: Devendra Jhajharia, MariyappanThangavelu, Varun Bhati.

Outstanding Contribution to sports: K Arumugam.

Athlete of the year: Gaurav Gill.

Gamechanger of the year: K.L Rahul

Extreme Performer of the year: Shiva Keshavan

Lifetime Achievement Award: Abhinav Bindra

Community Development through sports: Milind Soman (Received by his mother Usha Soman).

Inspirational athlete of the year: Deepa Malik

Living Legend: Milkha Singh

Sportsperson Of The Year: P V Sindhu.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Paris Olympics 2024

Paris Olympics 2024