» Sports » Scottish Cup: Celtic clinch historic quadruple-treble

Scottish Cup: Celtic clinch historic quadruple-treble

December 20, 2020 23:25 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:


IMAGE: Celtic's Scott Brown celebrates with the trophy and teammates after winning the Scottish Cup final. Photograph: Russell Cheyne/Reuters

Scottish champions Celtic beat Heart of Midlothian 4-3 on penalties in the Scottish Cup final to clinch an unprecedented domestic 'quadruple-treble' at Hampden Park in Glasgow on Sunday.

Celtic have now won all three domestic trophies -- the Scottish Premiership, Scottish Cup and Scottish League Cup -- for the fourth successive year.


Celtic were declared 2019-20 league champions after the Premiership season ended early due to the COVID-19 pandemic while they won the League Cup last December after beating arch rivals Rangers 1-0 in the final.

In Sunday's final, Celtic's Ryan Christie scored the opener before Odsonne Edouard doubled their lead from the spot within the first half hour.

But Hearts bounced back in the second half with goals from Liam Boyce and Stephen Kingsley to force the game into extra time.

Leigh Griffiths put Celtic in the lead in the first half of extra time before Josh Ginnelly fired an equaliser to make it 3-3 to force penalties.

Celtic's Conor Hazard was the hero in the shootout after making two saves before Christopher Ajer sealed victory with the final spot-kick.

The result could give Celtic a kickstart in their current campaign where they lie second in the Premiership standings, 16 points behind Rangers with three games in hand, while they were dumped out of the League Cup by Ross County last month.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: source
© Copyright 2021 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

India tour of Australia 2020

India's tour of Australia 2020