» Sports » Rajpal, Surinder to lead Asian Games hockey teams

Rajpal, Surinder to lead Asian Games hockey teams

Source: PTI
November 04, 2010 11:00 IST

Rajpal Singh and experienced forward Surinder Kaur will lead India's challenge in the men's and women's hockey events respectively at the Asian Games in Guangzhou, China, from November 12-27.

Both teams leave for the quadrennial Games on Friday.

The men's squad, which won the silver medal at the just-concluded Commonwealth Games, was retained while the women's squad has two changes.

Yogita Bali replaced Etimarpu Rajani as the second goalkeeper while Rosalind Lalchhanhimi Ralte was included in place of Asunta Lakra in midfield.

The teams:

Men's squad:

Goalkeeper: Bharat Chetri.

Defenders: Sardar Singh, Sandeep Singh, Dhananjay Mahadik, Gurbaj Singh, Prabodh Tirkey.

Midfielders: Arjun Halappa, Vikram Pillay, Ravi Pal, Bharat Chikara, Danish Mujtaba, Sarvanjit Singh.

Forwards: Rajpal Singh (capt), Tushar Khandker, Shivendra Singh, Dharamvir Singh.

Women's squad:

Goalkeepers: Dipika Murty Gongala, Yogita Bali.

Defenders: Binita Toppo, Subhadra Pradhan, Joydeep Kaur

Midfielders: Rosalind Lalchhanhimi Ralte, Kirandeep Kaur, Mukta Prava Barla, Deepika Thakur, Ritu Rani.

Forwards: Surinder Kaur (capt), Saba Anjum, Rani Rampal, Jasjeet Kaur Handa, Chanchan Devi Thokchom, Poonam Rani.

Officials: Jose Brasa (coach, men), Harendra Singh (national coach, men), Sandeep Somesh (coach in-charge, women), Clarence Lobo (coach, men), Khalid Modi (coach, women), B K Nayak (doctor), Shrikant Iyengar (physio), Pradeep Dutta (trainer), H Nalini (video analyst), Anupam Ghulati (manager, men), Rupa Saini (manager, women).

Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.