» Sports » Pakistan club too good for Indian Navy

Pakistan club too good for Indian Navy

November 28, 2003 19:52 IST

Pakistani Star club got off to a flying start in the Lal Bahadur Shastri hockey tournament, beating Indian Navy 5-1 in Delhi on Friday.

The other foreign side in fray, Dinamo Kazan hockey club of Russia, however bowed out after losing to Indian Airlines 7-1 and suffering their second loss in the tournament.

International Mohammed Sarwar scored a brace of goals in the Pakistan team's big win over the Indian sailors.

In other matches of the day, Air India and Indian Oil played out a 2-2 draw while BPCL beat ONGC 2-0.

Among the four matches, the game of the day undoubtedly was between Pakistan Star club and Indian Navy though the former had only one member of the Pakistan senior team -- Sarwar -- in their ranks.

But even that seemed enough to pull a sizeable crowd to the stadium. Sarwar started the goal scoring spree with a penalty-corner conversion in the fifth minute. Mohammed Azam scored another two minutes later as Star Club went into half-time leading 2-0.

Three more goals in the second half -- Sarwar (37th), Mudassar Hanif (44th) and Saheed Rabbani (68th) – completed the formalities for the Lahore side though Manoj Lakhande converted a penalty stroke (43rd) in between to avoid a washout.

Indian Airlines, playing without the injured Dhanraj Pillay, pounded a hapless Dinamo Kazan, with Sameer Dad (5th, 16th minutes) and Virendra Lakra (27th, 53rd) sounding the board twice each.

Dilip Tirkey's penalty-corner conversion in the eighth minute, Arjun Halappa's field goal in the 12th minute and Vikram Pilay's goal in the 59th made matters worse for the Russian side, who lost their opening tie against ONGC 3-4 yesterday.

An 18th minute penalty-corner brought the visitors' lone goal.

Indian Oil showed tremendous grit to hold Air India 2-2 after the latter surged ahead twice in the match with goals from Surinder Kundu (9th) and Deepak Kumar (26th).

Vikramjit's penalty-corner conversion in the 25th minute and Prabhjot Singh's 46th minute goal helped Indian Oil take a point.

Sandeep Michael (28th) and Amar Aiyamma (54th) scored once in each half as BPCL made light of Len Aiyappa's absence to beat ONGC. Aiyappa missed the match due to injury.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.