» Sports » Hockey India names 32 players for central contract

Hockey India names 32 players for central contract

Source: PTI
June 08, 2012 16:21 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Hockey India has named 32 senior men players who will be awarded central contracts for the year 2012-2013.

The list of core probables was pruned down to 32 from 48 after a two-day selection trial, which ended at the Balewadi Sports Complex in Pune on Thursday, and was witnessed by Hockey India selectors Balbir Singh and B P Govinda, government observer Harbinder Singh, chief coach Michael Nobbs and exercise physiologist David John.

Hockey India said all the 32 probables will be awarded an annual retainership fee which is in the process of finalisation and will be announced very soon.

The list has three goalkeepers, five defenders, nine midfielders and 15 forwards, including all the top names of Indian hockey.

However, players like former captain Rajpal Singh, goalkeeper Adrian D'Souza and Mandeep Antil, who participated in the unsanctioned World Series Hockey, do not feature in the list.

TheĀ 32 players:

Goalkeepers: Bharat Chetri, P R Sreejesh, P T Rao.

Defenders: V R Raghunath, Ignace Tirkey, Sandeep Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Harbir Singh.

Midfielders: Sardar Singh, Kothajit Singh, Gurbaj Singh, Birendra Lakra, Manpreet Singh, M B Aiyappa, Bipin Karketta, Pardeep Mor, Gurmail Singh.

Forwards: S V Sunil, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, Sarvanjit Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Shivendra Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Tushar Khandker, S K Uthappa, Pradhanna Sommanna, Nithin Thimmaiah, Yuvraj Walmiki, Dharamvir Singh, Akashdeep Singh, M G Poonacha, Prabhdeep Singh.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

India tour of Australia 2020

India's tour of Australia 2020