NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » 2010 CWG Organising Committee formed

2010 CWG Organising Committee formed

May 19, 2005 20:40 IST

A 350-member jumbo organising committee has been put in place to prepare for the 2010 Commonwealth Games, to be held in Delhi.

The committee, formed by its chairman Suresh Kalmadi in consultation with the Indian Olympic Association and Chairman of Group of Ministers Arjun Singh, comprises leading personalities from various fields including Union Ministers, Members of Parliament, sports persons and industrialists.

Former Union Minister K P Singh Deo has been appointed chairman of the Sports and Games Technical Committee while Director General of Sports Authority of India Ratan Watal would be his deputy, Organising Committee secretary-general Lalit Bhanot said in a statement on Thursday.

Kalmadi also nominated eight deputy chairmen, including Water Resources Minister and All India Football Federation president Priyaranjan Dasmunshi, Sports Secretary Meenakshi Anand Choudhary, Chairman Chiefs of Staff Committee Admiral Arun Prakash, Minister for Overseas Indian Affairs Jagdish Tytler and Chief Secretary of the Delhi government S Raghunathan.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.