Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article
Home > Sports > News > PTI > Report

Humpy crowned Asian champion

August 25, 2003 21:56 IST

India's Koneru Humpy and Dronavali Harika put an end to Chinese domination to grab the gold and silver medals respectively in the 10th Asian women's chess championship, which concluded in Kozikhode on Monday.

Grandmaster Humpy established her supremacy by claiming the gold with seven points. Tournament sensation Harika took the silver, pushingVietnam's Hoang Thanh Trang to the third spot on better average rating.

WGM Vijayalakshmi, who was in contention for the title until she drew her eighth round game with Zhang Jilin (China) yesterday, lost to Trang Xu Yuanyuan (China), who drew with compatriot Gu Xiaobing to moveto six points and finish fourth in the championship, in whichthe Chinese held sway for several years.

Defending champion Li Ruofan (China) finished a poor ninth after splitting points with Tania Sachdev.

Agreeing for a draw against Le Kieu Thien Kim (VIE), Humpy ensured the top position to justify her top billing in the tournament, although the Vijayawada girl had virtually won the title yesterday itself by virtue of her better average rating.

"I am very happy to win unopposed as the tournament is the toughest I have played so far," Humpy said.

Harika, who created a few upsets in the initial rounds to hog the limelight, convincingly beat Wang Yu (China) to finishsecond with 6.5 points after recording a better average compared to Trang.

With five players - Wang Yu, Huang Quian, Zhao Xue, Xu Yuanyuan (all China) and Nguyen Thi Thanh Anh (Vietnam) - besides the title winner Humpy, having already qualified for the Worldchampionship, the 12 other top-rankers earned an entry tothe tournament.

The 12 players are -- D Harika, S Vijayalakshmi, Bhagyashree Thipsay, Tania Sachdev, Aarthie Ramaswamy (all India), Hoang Thanh Trang, Le Kieu Thien Kim (both Vietnam), Shen Yang, Gu Xiaobing, Li Ruofan, Zhang Jilin and Tian Tian (all China).

FIDE, during its recent meeting at Nigeria, had announced a prizeof US $8,000to be shared among the top 16 players.

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments


Copyright 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.