» News » Tarun Gogoi elected Assam CLP leader

Tarun Gogoi elected Assam CLP leader

By K Anurag
May 17, 2011 17:18 IST

Tarun Gogoi is all set to become the chief minister of Assam for the third consecutive term with the Congress Legislature Party unanimously electing him as its leader in the meet held at the central hall of Assam assembly complex in Guwahati on Tuesday afternoon.

The meeting was held in the presence of the All India Congress Committee observers in-charge of Assam Pranab Mukherjee and Digvijay Singh, state Pradesh Congress chief Bhubaneswar Kalita and many senior leaders of the party.

The name of Gogoi for the CM's post was proposed by senior MLA-elect Dr Bhumidhar Barman.

Several senior leaders, including Rameswar Dhanowar, Nazrul Islam and Gautam Roy supported the proposal that was declared accepted by a show of hands.

Gogoi is slated to be sworn-in as the chief minister for the third straight term on Wednesday afternoon by Governor JB Patnaik.

He will take the oath alone before flying to New Delhi to finalise the list of ministers in consultation with the central leadership of the party.

Thanking his party men for placing their faith on him, Gogoi exhorted the elected MLAs and other Congressmen to work with greater vigour and not get complacent after the win.

Mukherjee also urged the party workers to put in all possible effort to live up to the expectations of the people, who have reposed their faith on the Congress.

"The mandate for the Congress is to continue the good work. We must be able to live up to the expectations," Mukherjee said.

K Anurag in Guwahati