» News » Soren apologises to BJP for cut motion error

Soren apologises to BJP for cut motion error

Source: ANI
April 29, 2010 17:01 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Jharkhand Chief Minister Shibu Soren has reportedly written to Bharatiya Janata Party president Nitin Gadkari apologising to him and senior leaders Lal Krishna Advani and Sushma Swaraj for voting in favour of the United Progressive Alliance government on the cut motion.

In his letter, Soren conceded that his support to the UPA government during the cut motion moved by the Opposition was a mistake. He pleaded with Swaraj for justice for the people of Jharkhand.

The JMM leader wrote that he had sacrificed his life for the people of Jharkhand and was now indisposed.

Shibu Soren's son Hemant Soren had earlier on Wednesday expressed his regret to the BJP for his father's error, asserting that the Chief Minister was ready to resign and urged the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to take a fresh initiative to form a government with a new leader.

Hemant said the state wasn't ready to face another poll.

"The JMM is ready to make a sacrifice for Guruji's (Soren's) mistake," he said.

The BJP has, however, declined the offer made by Hemant Soren.

Meanwhile, the BJP Parliamentary Board met again on Thursday under the leadership of Advani and Swaraj to decide further proceedings.

It is reported that the BJP leaders will meet the Jharkhand Governor MOH Farook on Thursday evening and convey their decision to withdraw support to Soren's JMM.
The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)-led government in Jharkhand was reduced to a minority on Wednesday after the BJP withdrew its support, as it was reportedly upset with Soren for voting with the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government on the cut motion.

After the BJP's pullout, the ruling coalition has been reduced to 28 from 46 in a House of 81. Soren was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Jharkhand on December 30, 2009 for the third time.

He had formed the government with a five-party coalition. Soren had secured the support of 44 MLAs in the 81-member House after the assembly elections in Jharkhand gave a fractured verdict.

The JMM had 18 seats, BJP had 18 seats, Janata Dal-United (JD-U) had two seats, All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) had five seats and Jharkhand Janadhikar Manch (JJM) had one seat in the assembly.

The Congress has 14 seats in the assembly.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: ANI
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus