» News » 62.54% voter turnout in 4th phase of Jharkhand polls

62.54% voter turnout in 4th phase of Jharkhand polls

Source: PTI
Last updated on: December 16, 2019 20:33 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

An estimated 62.54 per cent of over 47 lakh electorate cast their votes in the fourth phase of Jharkhand assembly elections to 15 seats on Monday, Election Commission officials said.

Polling, which began at 7 am, was peaceful in the constituencies spread over Giridih, Deoghar, Dhanbad and Bokaro districts, state Chief Electoral Officer Vinay Kumar Choubey said.

Voting ended at 3 pm in Jamua, Bagodar, Giridih, Dumri and Tundi seats while the exercise concluded at 5 pm in the remaining seats, Choubey said.

He said 48 ballot units, 50 control units and 121 VVPAT machines had to be replaced but polling was not hampered because of it.

There were a total of 9,902 ballot units, 7,628 control units and 7,931 VVPAT machines, Choubey said.

The seats which went to polls in this round were Deoghar (SC), Jamua (SC), Chandankiyari (SC), Madhupur, Bagodar, Gandey, Giridih, Dumri, Bokaro, Sindri, Nirsa, Dhanbad, Jharia, Tundi and Baghmara.

Prominent among the candidates in this phase were state Labour Minister Raj Paliwar from Madhipur seat and Land and Revenue Minister Amar Kumar Bauri from Chandankiyari constituency.

Choubey said out of total 6,101 polling stations, 1,133 were marked 'critical' and 3,070 'sensitive'.

A total of 47,85,009 voters, including 22,44,134 female and 81 third gender voters, were eligible to decide the fate of 221 nominees, including 23 women candidates.

Of the total electorate, there were 34,106 octagenarian and 66,321 differently-abled voters, the CEO said.

Choubey said a record 92.43 per cent of the 66,321 differently-abled voters cast their votes.

Webcasting was done in 2,122 polling stations while 70 booths were manned only by women polling personnel, he said, adding more than one EVMs were used in four seats where there were more than 16 candidates in the fray.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party had contested all the 15 seats that went to polls in this phase.

Its ally All Jharkhand Students Union Party contested on its own for the first time since the creation of Jharkhand in 2000.

The opposition alliance of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, the Congress and the Rashtriya Janata Dal fielded candidates in constituencies as per their pre-poll seat adjustment.

Of the total 81 seats, elections to 50 seats concluded in the first three phases held between November 30 and December 12.

The fifth and final phase of polling to 16 seats will be held on December 20 and votes will be counted on December 23.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus