» News » 60.03% voting in final phase of UP polls

60.03% voting in final phase of UP polls

Source: PTI
March 08, 2017 20:43 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Over 60 per cent of the 1.41 crore voters on Wednesday exercised their franchise in the seventh and last phase of the Uttar Pradesh assembly polls in 40 seats, bringing down the curtain on a gruelling two-month-long process.

IMAGE: Sadhus of the Juna Akhara show their voting cards before casting their vote at a polling booth in Varanasi during the seventh and final phase of the Uttar Pradesh polls. All Photographs: PTI Photo

"60.03 per cent votes were polled till 5 pm," Uttar Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer T Venkatesh said.

The turnout for these seats was 57.92 per cent in the last assembly polls in 2012.

The average turnout in the seven phases of polling that began on February 11 has been around 60-61 per cent compared to 59.48 per cent in 2012.

The poll percentage in the first phase was 64.22, in the second 65.16, third phase 61.16, fourth phase 60.37, fifth phase 57.37 and sixth phase 57.03.

Wednesday's exercise passed off by and large peacefully and no untoward incident was reported from the three constituencies in the Naxal-affected districts of Sonbhadra, Mirzapur and Chandauli. Poll percentage in these areas was Chakia 59, Duddhi 62 and Robertsganj 58.

IMAGE: Women show their voter ID cards in Mirzapur during polling.  

All eyes were on the Assembly segments in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Lok Sabha constituency Varanasi, where the turnout was 60.95 per cent till 5 pm.

Polling started amidst tight security arrangements in seven districts and gained momentum as the day advanced.

Ghazipur, Jaunpur and Bhadoi are the other districts where polling was held.

Voting concluded at 5 pm in all constituencies, barring the Naxal-hit areas where it ended at 4 pm.

In Jaunpur, Bharatiya Janata Party candidate from Jafarabad seat Harendra Pratap Singh and four others were arrested for allegedly taking voters to polling booths in two vehicles.

Singh, however, denied the charge.

IMAGE: An elderly woman is carried after she cast her vote at a polling station.

The counting of votes in UP will be taken up on March 11, along with four other states -- Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur, where Assembly polls were held. Among the voters in this phase polling in UP, 64.76 lakh were women. 

14,458 polling booths were set up for today's exercise which will decide the fate of 585 candidates, including 51 women.

The BJP contested 32 seats and its allies -- the Apna Dal and the Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party -- fought in four seats each.

The Bahujan samaj Party fielded its nominees for all seats.

While the Samajwadi Party contested 31 seats, its ally the Congress is in the race for the remaining seats.

IMAGE: People line up to vote at a polling station in Mirzapur.

In the 2012 polls, out of these 40 seats, 23 went to the SP, 5 to the BSP, 4 to the BJP, 3 to the Congress and 5 to others.

In all, 535 candidates, including BSP (40), BJP (32), SP (31), Congress (9), RLD 21, and NCP (5) were in the fray.

While the maximum number of 24 candidates was from Varanasi Cantt seat, the minimum number of 6 candidates was contesting from Kerakat (SC).

Prominent candidates who were in fray include former cabinet minister Om Prakash, Parasnath Yadav, Ajay Rai, former MP Dhananjay Singh, Sigbatullah Ansari, brother of Mukhtar Ansari, and Seema Singh, wife of jailed mafia Munna Bajrangi.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus