» News » Amitabh, Prince Aga Khan receive Padma Vibhushan

Amitabh, Prince Aga Khan receive Padma Vibhushan

Source: PTI
April 08, 2015 16:03 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Big B was awarded the country's second highest civilian honour. Photograph: PIB

Bollywood megastar Amitabh Bachchan and Prince Karim Aga Khan were among the eminent personalities awarded the Padma Vibhushan, country's second highest civilian honour, by President Pranab Mukherjee in New Delhi on Wednesday.

Besides them, senior Supreme Court advocate Kottayan K Venugopal and D Veerendra Heggade of the famous Dharmasthala Jain temple in Karnataka were also conferred the Padma Vibhushan.

President Pranab Mukherjee presents the Padma Vibhushan Award to Prince Karim Aga Khan at a Civil Investiture Ceremony, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi. Photograph: PIB

Renowned Assamese filmmaker Jahnu Barua and computer scientist Vijay Bhatkar were given the Padma Bhushan, third highest civilian honour, during the civil investiture ceremony held at the majestic Durbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Hockey player Saba Anjum, women cricketer Mithali Raj, economist Bibek Debroy, IT honcho T V Mohandas Pai and musician Ravindra Jain were given Padma Shri.

Assamese filmmaker Jahnu Barua receives the Padma Bhushan. Photograph: PIB

Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal were among the prominent dignitaries present during the event.

Amitabh's son Abhishek and daughter-in-law Aishwarya attend the ceremony

Amitabh's son Abhishek Bachchan, daughter-in-law Aishwarya Rai Bachchan and daughter Shweta Nanda were also present at the ceremony.

The Padma awards were announced on the eve of Republic Day this year. It included nine Padma Vibhushan, 20 Padma Bhushan and 75 Padma Shri.

Seventeen recipients were women and as many in the categories of foreigners, NRIs and PIOs while there were four posthumous awardees.

Pranab Mukherjee presents the Padma Shri Award to  Ravindra Jain at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Photograph: PIB

The 38 Padma Shri awardees include music maestro Ravindra Jain, renown Hindi poet Sunil Jogi, vice-chancellor of Gujarat Ayurved University Vaidya Rajesh Kotecha, eminent writer and freedom fighter Lambert Mascarenhas, vocalist Tripti Mukherjee, founder of Shillong Chamber Choir Neil Herbert Nongkynrih, chairperson of Manipal Global Education Services T V Mohandas Pai and environmental activist Jadav Payeng, who single handedly turned a sandbar of Brahmaputra into a reserve forest.

Captain of Indian women cricket team Mithali Raj, Portuguese yoga grand master Jagat Guru Amrta Suryananda Maha Raja, former director of NCERT J S Rajput, South Indian film star Kota Srinivasa Rao, renowned author of Hindi literature Manu Sharma, director of the Indian Space Research Organisatopm satellite centre S K Shivakumar, AIIMS, New Delhi's ophthalmologist Yoj Raj Sharma and Assamese writer Lakshmi Nandan Bora were also given with Padma Shri awards.

Two Padma Shri awardees were not present at the civil investiture ceremony.


Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.