» News » Pegasus: 14 Oppn parties blame govt for Parliament logjam

Pegasus: 14 Oppn parties blame govt for Parliament logjam

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Utkarsh Mishra
August 04, 2021 15:53 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Leaders of 14 opposition parties on Wednesday said the responsibility for the deadlock in Parliament lies squarely with the government and urged it to respect parliamentary democracy by accepting their demand for a discussion on the Pegasus row and farmers' issue.


IMAGE: Opposition leaders create uproar in Rajya Sabha during the Monsoon Session of Parliament, in New Delhi on Wednesday. Photograph: RSTV grab via ANI Photo

In a joint statement, 18 leaders from 14 parties said it is unfortunate that the government has 'unleashed a misleading campaign to malign the combined opposition' and blaming it for the continued disruption of Parliament proceedings.

'The responsibility for the deadlock lies squarely at the doorsteps of the government, which remains arrogant and obdurate and refuses to accept the opposition's demand for an informed debate in both the houses,' according to the statement.

'The opposition once again urges the government to respect parliamentary democracy and accept the discussions.

'The opposition parties stand firm and united on their demand for a discussion on Pegasus issue in both the Houses, replied to by the Home Minister, as this has national security dimensions,' it said.

The opposition has also unequivocally conveyed that discussion on farmers' issues and on agitations due to the contentious agriculture laws should follow the debate on the Pegasus row.

The statement was issued jointly by Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge, Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam's T R Baalu and Tiruchi Siva, Congress' Anand Sharma, Samajwadi Party's Ramgopal Yadav, Derek O'Brien and Kalyan Banerjee of the Trinamool Congress, and Sanjay Raut and Vinayak Raut of the Shiv Sena.

The other signatories included Manoj Jha of the Rashtriya Janata Dal, Communist Party of India-Marxist's Elamaram Kareem, Communist Party of India's Binoy Viswam, Aam Aadmi Party's Sushil Gupta, Indian Union Muslim League's Mohammed Basheer, Natoinal Conference's Hasnain Masoodi, Revolutionary Soscialit Party's N K Premachandran and M V Shreyams Kumar of the Loktantrik Janata Dal.

The statement comes after a stalemate in Monsson Session of Parliament with both the Houses paralysed by the opposition's uproar over their demand for a discussion on the Pegasus snooping issue and farmers' protests.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Utkarsh Mishra© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus