» News » Timeline: Nepal becomes republic

Timeline: Nepal becomes republic

Source: PTI
May 29, 2008 00:23 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Following is the chronology of important developments in the history of Nepal, which became a republic on Wednesday.

1768: Shah dynasty begins after Gurkha ruler Prithvi Narayan Shah conquers Kathmandu and lays foundations for a unified kingdom.

1792: Nepalese aggression halted by defeat at hands of Chinese in Tibet.

1814-16: Anglo-Nepalese War; culminates in treaty which establishes Nepal's current boundaries.

1846: Jang Bahadur Rana becomes prime minister. Establishes the hereditary rule of Ranas.

1923: Treaty with Britain affirms Nepal's sovereignty.

1946: Nepali Congress party established.

1948: First Constitution of Nepal promulgated.

1950: King Tribhuvan, present King Gyanendra's grandfather, flees to India after falling out with the Ranas. Ranas implicate him in a conspiracy against them. Anti-Rana forces based in India form alliance with monarch.

1951: End of Rana rule. King Tribhuvan restored.

1955: King Tribhuwan dies, King Mahendra ascends throne.

1959: Multi-party constitution adopted.

1960: King Mahendra seizes control and suspends Parliament, Constitution and party politics after Nepali Congress wins elections with B P Koirala as premier.

1972: King Mahendra dies, succeeded by Birendra.

1980: Constitutional referendum follows agitation for reform. King agrees to allow direct elections to national assembly, but on a non-party basis.

1985: Nepali Congress begins civil disobedience campaign for restoration of multi-party system.

1989: Trade and transit dispute with India leads to border blockade by New Delhi.

1990: Pro-democracy agitation co-ordinated by Nepali Congress and Leftist groups. King Birendra bows to pressure and proclaims a new Constitution establishing multy-party democracy under constitutional monarchy.

1991: Nepali Congress wins first democratic elections. Girija Prasad Koirala becomes prime minister.

1994: Koirala's government defeated in no-confidence motion. New elections lead to formation of Leftist government.

1995: Communist government dissolved.

1995: Maoists launch armed agitation to abolish monarch and establishing people's republic.

1997: Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba loses no-confidence vote.

2000: G P Koirala returns as prime minister.

June 2001: King Birendra, Queen Aishwarya and other close relatives killed in shooting spree by drunken crown prince Dipendra, who then shoots himself. Prince Gyanendra becomes king.

July 2001: Maoist rebels step up violence. Premier Koirala quits over the violence; Sher Bahadur Deuba becomes prime minister.

November 2001: State of emergency declared after more than 100 people are killed in four days of violence. King Gyanendra orders army to crush the Maoist rebels.

May 2002: Parliament dissolved, fresh elections called amid political confrontation over extending the state of emergency. Sher Bahadur Deuba heads interim government.

October 2002: King Gyanendra dismisses Deuba and indefinitely puts off elections set for November. Lokendra Bahadur Chand appointed as prime minister.

January 2003: Rebels, government declare ceasefire.

May-June 2003: Lokendra Bahadur Chand resigns; king appoints Surya Bahadur Thapa as new premier.

August 2003: Rebels pull out of peace talks.

May 2004: Prime Minister Surya Bahadur Thapa resigns following weeks of street protests by opposition groups.

June 2004: King Gyanendra reappoints Sher Bahadur Deuba as prime minister with the task of holding elections.

February 1, 2005: King Gyanendra dismisses Prime Minister Deuba and his government, declares a state of emergency.

April 30, 2005:King lifts the state of emergency.

November 2005:Maoist rebels and main opposition parties agree on a programme intended to restore democracy.

April 2006:King Gyanendra agrees to reinstate Parliament following weeks of violent strikes and protests against direct royal rule. G P Koirala is appointed as prime minister. Maoist rebels call a three-month ceasefire.

May 2006:Parliament votes unanimously to curtail the king's powers.

16 June, 2006:Prachanda and premier Koirala hold talks.

November 2006:The government and Maoists sign a historic peace accord.

January 2007:Maoist leaders enter parliament under the terms of interim Constitution.

April 2007:Maoists rebels join interim government.

May 2007:Elections postponed to November.

September 2007:Maoists quit interim government to press demand for monarchy to be scrapped.

October 2007:Elections are again postponed.

December 2007:Parliament approves abolition of monarchy as part of peace deal with Maoists, who agree to re-join government. Mainstream parties and the Maoists agree to hold elections by mid-April 2008.

April 10, 2008: Nepal votes in elections for a Constituent Assembly to rewrite the country's Constitution. The Maoists win 220 of 601 seats in the elections.

May 27, 2008: The new Constituent Assembly is sworn in.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus