» News » K'taka: 13 legislators quit, BJP govt in crisis

K'taka: 13 legislators quit, BJP govt in crisis

By Vicky Nanjappa
Last updated on: January 29, 2013 16:48 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

After waiting for over five days, 13 Bharatiya Janata Party rebel MLA's have tendered their resignations to Speaker of the legislative assembly KG Bopaiah.

The MLAs' who are B S Yeddyurappa loyalists met the Speaker a while ago and submitted their resignations. They had decided to do so last week, but had to wait as the Speaker was out of town.

Meanwhile, the BJP has also filed a petition before the Speaker seeking disqualification of the 13 MLAs. It is now up to the speaker to take a decision on the issue.

Among the legislators who have quit today are two ministers.

If another five legislators resign, the Karnataka government will be reduced to a minority.

Even as the consultation process was underway, the Speaker's secretariat issued a statement, saying that the resignation of Challakere (ST) constituency MLA Thippeswamy has been accepted.

The fate of the resignation of 12 MLAs is yet to be known.

The petition filed by BJP seeking disqualification of 12 rebel MLAs on the ground of 'anti party' activities is already before the Speaker and is likely to have a bearing on their resignation letters.

BJP today filed another complaint seeking disqualification of five MLCs who have been supporting Karnataka Janata Party, floated by Yeddyurappa after breaking ranks with the BJP.

With inputs from PTI

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Vicky Nanjappa
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus