» News » Kodela elected AP assembly Speaker

Kodela elected AP assembly Speaker

June 20, 2014 11:14 IST

Veteran legislator Kodela Sivaprasada Rao has been unanimously elected as the first Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Andhra Pradesh post bifurcation of the state.

Pro-tem Speaker P Narayanaswamy Naidu on Friday announced the election of Kodela amidst wide applause from House members.

The pro-tem Speaker then ushered the new Speaker into the Chair in the old assembly building, which has been allotted to AP following the bifurcation.

Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, Leader of Opposition YS Jaganmohan Reddy, Legislative Affairs Minister Yanamala Ramakrishnudu and other legislators escorted Kodela to the Chair.

Kodela, a surgeon by profession, has been elected to the Assembly from Guntur district for the sixth time.

He has been a member of the Telugu Desam Party since its inception and has served as minister in prime portfolios like home, major irrigation, panchayat raj and rural development and medical and health departments in the Cabinets of the late NT Rama Rao and Chandrababu Naidu.

In keeping with tradition, the main opposition YSR Congress had supported Kodela's candidature for the post of Speaker.

Upon a request by Legislative Affairs Minister Yanamala Ramakrishnudu, Jaganmohan Reddy signed Kodela's nomination papers for the Speaker's post.

The chief minister, Jagan and other members congratulated Kodela upon his election as Speaker.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.