» News » Gowda easily wins election to Karnataka assembly

Gowda easily wins election to Karnataka assembly

By Vicky Nanjappa
December 22, 2011 18:09 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

D V Sadananda Gowda who replaced B S Yeddyurappa as the chief Minister of Karnataka won the elections to the Karnataka legislative assembly on Thursday.

The election was extremely important for Gowda to ensure that he continued as the CM of Karnataka.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party secured 123 votes, Congress 69 while the Janata Dal-Secular abstained. Seven votes were considered invalid.

The election which started at 9 am on Thursday morning went on peacefully and as the BJP had expected all the legislators including 5 independent MLAs voted in their favour.

Gowda defeated Congress candidate G Anand in this election.

A member of Parliament from the Udupi parliamentary constituency, Gowda had been chosen to replace Yeddyurappa after a Lokayukta report on illegal mining had hurled allegations of corruption against the influential Lingayat leader (Yeddyurappa).

Gowda had to face this election in the six months after he took over. It is mandatory that a CM is the member of either of the houses in the assembly.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Vicky Nanjappa in Bengaluru
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus