NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Five metro stations reopen in Delhi

Five metro stations reopen in Delhi

December 30, 2012 19:17 IST
Five out of the ten metro stations in Central Delhi, that were closed down for an indefinite period in the wake of the death of the gangrape victim, were opened on Saturday afternoon.

The stations which opened are Pragati Maidan, Mandi House, Barakhamba Road, Rajiv Chowk and Patel Chowk.

However, Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan, Race Course, Jor Bagh and Khan Market stations will remain closed till further orders.

However, inter-change facility will be available at the Central Secretariat station, DMRC officials said.

The decision to close down the metro stations was taken by the Delhi police which is making all out efforts to prevent protesters from reaching India Gate.

They have already cordoned off the entire India Gate area.

Police had last week as well closed down metro stations to prevent protesters from reaching the protest sites.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.