NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » EPS meets Guv; MLA alleges threat from DMK

EPS meets Guv; MLA alleges threat from DMK

February 19, 2017 20:42 IST

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, along with his cabinet colleagues on Sunday called on Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao at the Raj Bhavan in Chennai.

An official release said it was a ‘courtesy call’.

Ministers including P Thangamani, S P Velumani, C Ve Shanmugam and D Jayakumar accompanied Palaniswami.

Palaniswami presented a bouquet to Governor Rao and held a brief discussion with him, the release said.

Meanwhile, an All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam MLA in Coimbatore alleged that he was receiving threat calls over phone for voting in favour of the Palaniswami government in the assembly.

Amman K Arjunan, who visited his Coimbatore South constituency, told reporters that he and his wife were being threatened over phone by some persons, using foul language for voting in favour of the confidence motion moved by Palaniswami in the assembly on Saturday.

When he was talking to the public, some persons called on phone and asked what he was eating, rice or anything else, he said.

Arjunan claimed that some persons belonging to the DMK in the guise of public abused him and his mother. His wife was also receiving such threatening calls.

The MLA said he voted for Palanisamy to continue the 'good governance provided by late chief minister Jayalalithaa' and accused the DMK members of deliberately creating a ruckus in the assembly.

Asked about two other AIADMK MLAs from the city V C Arukutty and Arunkumar joining the camp led by former chief minister O Paneerselvam, he said, “They have gone to his side for some reasons. Both will return and support Palaniswami government.”

Arjunan said he would lodge a police complaint against those who were threatening and abusing him and his family members.

IMAGE: Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami with Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao. Photograph: R Senthil Kumar/PTI Photo

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.