» News » CVC awaits sanction to prosecute 34 govt officials

CVC awaits sanction to prosecute 34 govt officials

August 29, 2012 17:20 IST

The Central Vigilance Commission is awaiting sanction from different departments for over four months to prosecute 34 government officials for their alleged involvement in corruption.

As per the norms, sanction for prosecution has to be decided within four months.

Of the total 18 cases involving these officials, a maximum of four are pending in Ministry of Finance, three with Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions and two each with Ministry of Railways and Ministry of Health and Family Welfare among others.

Besides, one case each involving officials of Bank of India, Dena Bank, Syndicate Bank, Industrial Development Bank of India (IDBI), Ministry of Coal and Mines and Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL) were pending for sanction of prosecution for over four months, according to the latest data, updated till June this year, of the probity watchdog.

A reminder has also been sent to the departments concerned citing details of a recent Supreme Court verdict on granting sanction to prosecute within four months' time, he said.

Citing an apex court's order, the CVC has said, "Timelimit of three months for grant of sanction for prosecution must be strictly adhered to. However, additional time of one month may be allowed where consultation is required with the Attorney General or any other law officer in the AG's office."

A list carrying name and designation of these officials has also been put up on the CVC's website.

In a recent development, the CVC has formed a nine-member committee of experts to review pending cases referred to it by the CBI for sanction of prosecution.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.