» News » Cong announces candidates for 60 seats for TN polls

Cong announces candidates for 60 seats for TN polls

March 23, 2011 17:37 IST

Jayanthi Thangabalu, wife of Tamil Nadu Pradesh Congress Committee chief K V Thangblu, and former Union minister S Thirunavukarasu figure in the list of Congress candidates for 60 seats annnounced by the party on Wednesday for Tamil Nadu assembly elections. Other key names include All India Congress Committee secretary K Jayakkumar and senior party leaders Peter Alphanse and S Ganesan.

Jayanthi Thangabalu has been fielded from Myalapore seat while Thirunavukarasu will contest from Aranthangi. Alphonse will contest from Kadayaanallur while K Jayakkumar has named for the reserved Madurantakam seat. At least six women have been given tickets including Gayathri Devi, D Yashodha, Haseena Syed, Jothi Mani and S Vijayadharani apart from Jayanthi Thangabalu.

This is for the first time in several years that the Congress will be contesting as many as 63 seats. The strength of the Tamil Nadu Assembly is 234. The Congress has remained out of power in the state for the past four decades and has been generally contesting the polls as an ally of Dravidian parties Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam or All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam. In 1989 and 1996, the party had contested alone but it was routed.
© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.