» News » All Planning Commission members submit their resignations

All Planning Commission members submit their resignations

Source: PTI
May 19, 2014 19:05 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

All members of the Planning Commission have submitted their resignations to the Prime Minister's Office paying the way for reconstitution of the institution. "All members have submitted their resignation to the Prime Minster's Office through Planning Secretary Sindhushree Khullar. Now the PMO will take call on their resignations," an official said.

Besides Deputy Chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia, the other full time members of the Commission are B K Chaturvedi, Saumitra Chaudhuri, Syeda Hameed, Narendra Jadhav, Abhijit Sen, Mihir Shah, K Kasturirangan and Arun Maira.

As per the practice all members of the Commission submit their resignations to the prime minister who is the head of the institution after the general elections. The term of members of the Planning Commission is co-terminus with the government.

Following the results the general elections last week, the new Bharatiya Janata Party-led government is expected to be formed soon.  The new government will decide on the reconstitution of the the Commission.

This Commission has drafted the 12th Five Year Plan (2012-17) which envisages an annual average economic growth of 8 per cent during the policy period. However, the economic growth was recorded at 4.5 per cent in the first year of 12th Plan. It is estimated to be 4.9 per cent in 2013-14, the second of the policy period. The economic growth is expected be 5.5 per cent during this fiscal.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus