» News » 15 MLAs face action for stalling K'taka Assembly

15 MLAs face action for stalling K'taka Assembly

By Vicky Nanjappa
Last updated on: January 13, 2011 18:36 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

There was more trouble in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly on Thursday with the House Committee recommending the suspension of 15 members for creating ruckus on the floor of the House.

The House was also adjourned sine die after members of both the Congress and the Janata Dal-Secular continued to demand the ouster of the Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa and sought a debate on the alleged scams involving the state government.

The House Committee led by Bharatiya Janata Party MLA Ranjan Appachu took note of the events and recommended to Speaker K G Bopaiah the suspension of eight MLAs for a year and seven MLAs for six months.

The MLAs who have been recommended for one-year suspension include Rehman Khan, Kakaso Pandvraj Patel, Haris, UT Qadir from the Congress and Zameer Khan, C S Putraju, Krishnapa and H C Balakrishna from the JD-S.

The following MLAs have been recommended for six months suspension -- BK Sangmesh, Suresh Gowda, HP Manjunath, PM Ashah from the Congress and Bandema Kashem, K Raju, KB Bachegowda from the JD-S.

However, this did not go down well with the Opposition who staged a walkout. They alleged that if the MLAs are suspended it makes the BJP stronger.  

Moreover, the Supreme Court is also expected to deliver its verdict on the disqualified MLAs. In case, verdict is in favour of the disqualified MLAs then it would spell trouble for the ruling BJP.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Vicky Nanjappa in Bengaluru
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus